hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

How was your day 1 of AdvoCare 24 DC?

on April 11, 2017

What is it about any detox/cleanse that makes ya THINK you’re always hungry?  It’s a mind game.  We tell ourselves we can’t have certain things so it’s only natural that we CRAVE those particular items.  Here’s the funny part, it’s usually something we do fine without on a regular basis to begin with lol~

Day 1 started like any other day only THIS DAY I HAD to check my weight (yuck)!  I’m not normally a weight checker.  I don’t wanna depend on that liar (aka scales) to determine what kinda mood i’ll be shackled to for the day.  I tend to just go by how I feel and how my clothes fit.  So, here’s the skinny….I’m NOT skinny anymore!  I know i’ve gained weight, I know I’ve lost muscle, I’ve had to buy bigger clothes and hello! I can see it in my face every time I look in the mirror.  The verdict was I have gained more than I realized :/  (I ain’t gonna lie, I’m up exactly 25 lbs from my lowest weight).  What did that realization do to me?  IT MADE ME MAD and INSECURE!  But that’s OK because I’m working on that with your guys 😉

Couple of very important things to remember… you should be drinking at least half your body weight in ounces of water… you need to eat protein within an hour of waking each day to help boost your metabolism by 30% for the day…  you should be eating something nutritious every 2.5-3 hours…  if you are hungry EAT!  IF you happen to forget your herbal cleanse pills one night, just tack them onto the end of your cleanse and I suggest you take them AT BEDTIME (they tend to make me feel a little funny if I take them too early).

Up at my normal 4:20 am (checked the scales), had my devotions & daily FB post….

✟ When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. 1 Corinthians 13:11
Just as babes grow with the proper nutrition so do new Christians. Babes start with the bottle and gradually work their way up to having teeth and chewing meat. New Christians start with “Jesus loves me” and should work their way up to chewing on the bread of life, God’s word. As a lost person, the bible “doesn’t make sense” but as you grow in Christ it all starts coming together.  Lord, thank you for the Holy Spirit! Thank you for your word! Thank you for your love! I pray that I will CONTINUE to grow in you. In Jesus name, Amen

…baked some “lil’ ham sandwiches” to pack for kids’ lunches, whooped up some homemade gluten-free chocolate chip waffles (topped with whipped cream and strawberries) with bacon for the family and made myself eggs.

WAFFLE

I would normally not wait until today to start prep work however I didn’t get a chance to hit up Costco for all my supplies (but I did go to Harris Teeter for the stuff I HAD to have NOW!)  Today I made almond milk, almond flour, tapioca chia pudding, cut up the biggest head of cabbage I’ve ever seen, chopped cucumbers and tomatoes (for salad & alone), cooked huge batch of sprouted rice & quinoa AND boiled some eggs.

CUKE SALAD

About 2:30 I found myself so tired I could hardly hold my eyes open and it hit me—I haven’t OILED a bit all day (insert wide eyes because I am the oil queen!  I’m always rolling and/or diffusing something).  Don’t get me wrong, I started my day with oils as always but I’ve been so preoccupied by the fact that I wasn’t prepared that I didn’t “take care of myself”.  By the time I got home (from picking up the little at school) I didn’t have time to be tired!  Dinner was served by 5, we had a little family time by the basketball goal and then in for showers and the exciting news that daddy is going to let ME take the kids a way for a couple days next week (woohoo).

Side bar—pray for my husband!  He has to go to the hospital next Monday for several tests (stress, EKG and 48 hours of being strapped to a heart monitor).  No, WE are not concerned but it’s something that has to be done and I’ve been assured he can do it on his own (my husband is pretty self-sufficient for the most part being that he was a bachelor until he was 40!  I still have to remind him sometimes he has a family now haha)

I still have two hours til bedtime so I will easily get in my 8,000 steps! 😉

Today’s food and water intake:
Fiber/Spark/Pro/Catalyst (w/ 12 oz water)
(2) eggs with spinach, chia and 2 slices bacon, watermelon chunks (w/ 16 oz water)
**Cantaloupe chunks
Big boy smoothie (w/ 12 oz coconut water)
Sushi (avocado, crab and seaweed)
Apple (tsp pb)
Spark (w/ 16 oz)
**Watermelon
16 oz
Egg roll in a bowl (cabbage, chicken, garlic, onion, ginger and quinoa) w/ OmegaPlex
Cucumber/tomato salad
16 oz
Herbal cleanse pills

Accomplished day #1 with NO SUGAR!!!  (of course the night is still young lol)

PS….I did walk one mile this morning (I was planning for 2 but I’m such a clutz!  I was trying to jump over my husband and off his side of the bed Sunday night….and well, I MISSED and scraped the inside of my left leg along the sharp edge of the railing…yes, it’s always an adventure

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

