hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

What do you know about being busy AND Magnesium?

on April 28, 2015

Soooooo….I’m scrolling through some old posts and find that I have several DRAFTS waiting :/ It’s funny because on a daily basis I compose whole posts in my head when I’m away from home. They’re always awesome, eloquently stated and information any health conscious person would want to know HaHaHa—but then my mind is so full of JUMBLED WORDS all the time that I can’t keep my thoughts together long enough to get it to paper when I get home. Because you know once I make it home I’m too busy doing others things (aka kitchen and oil business) to REMEMBER! (I know that Rosemary is good for memory, but do you think I can remember to sniff it or add it to my diffuser haha). For instance I have actually taken 100s of pictures in order do some tutorial posts (ex: ALMONDS: almond flour, almond butter, almond milk; DEODORANT; KETCHUP, SF SYRUP). All this EZ DIY kinda stuff that I thought would just be too time consuming to ever make on my own. In my head you all would like to learn how to do that right?! 🙂

Well, here’s the draft I found and now that I’ve actually opened it I can’t remember when it was from but it had to be at least a year ago (yep)….

Hold the phone where has the time gone?! I get up at 4:25 am EVERY DAY (Mon-Fri & sometimes the weekend too) and generally don’t bed down until 10 pm…yet, there’s not enough hours in the day?! Of course, if there were more, I’m sure I could manage to fill those and it still not be enough. “WHY in the world do you get up so early?” I hear on almost a daily basis. My response to that is, “Because God wakes me up to study and pray, then I cook a hot breakfast, pack the family lunches, think about dinner and all the goodies I wanna make today!”

Y’all know I’m still loving my AdvoCare products! Visit http://www.chellespark.com if you’re in the market for MORE ENERGY, an increased metabolism or a jumpstart on weight loss or even just maintaining (but don’t just go and think “What the, what?” talk to me and let me explain to you first) 😉

I’ve jumped on the Essential Oils band wagon and I love the fact that everything I’ve tried, blended, and used has done exactly what it’s promoted to do! I’ve been asked several times why I chose the brand I use over others (my sister does YL EO’s) and it’s because after all the research I personally put into EO’s I came to the conclusion that this brand has the best/highest quality oils. Yes, they’re more expensive than some and less than others but when we’re talking about your family’s health and well-being, can you really put a price on that?! Plus, what you’ll save in in the long run will make it well worth every penny you spend.  Contact me to get you started on keeping your families healthy (but again, don’t just go unless you know what you’re looking for, I want to help you chose which products to get you started) 🙂

I have to admit that I spend way more time on my computer than I wish I did simply because…since I put my family on a GF/SF/DF/EG diet, I’ve wanted to prove to them they will not be deprived therefore I try to make something new/improved every day trying to find their favorites (at which point I’ll just rotate some of the same dishes instead of a new breakfast, lunch and dinner every day!). There’s always cooking to be done in our home! Due to my son’s health (tic disorder/TS) I no longer buy artificial ANYTHING, nothing w/ colors or dyes, no “natural flavors”, no gluten, no dairy, no preservatives, no processed…it can all be rather overwhelming but I’m learning it CAN be done!

Since (trying to 100%) removing chemicals/toxins in our home, I’m learning how to make a lot of every day items (of course there’s also a lot of fails that go along w/ it)…dish washer detergent, laundry detergent, cleaning products, hand soap, body wash, face wash, bar soap, moisturizer, chapstick, lotion, healing salves, toothpaste, deodorant, heavy cream (from cashews!),nut butters, nut milks, I mean the list just goes on and on… So often, I think, “Oh man, I’ve gotta write about this” but then the next thing comes along and well, “yer” just forgotten about :/ (As I’m sitting here typing, I took a moment to mix up an EO deodorant that I’ll try for the first time tomorrow) ***WHICH BTW worked out wonderously though I wouldn’t recommend using this particular one in the summer months. I mixed 1/4 of a 10ml bottle with Citrus Bliss and 1/4 of (haha I can’t remember but I THINK..) Lemon and filled the rest w/ carrier. It smells absolutely divine however if you are a real “stinker” in the hot summer months, you’re stink will just smell a lil’ sweeter lol~

I mean listen MAGNESIUM!! What do you know about it? I’ve taken it for several years because I found that it helps me sleep (which I’ve just recently learned that means I wasn’t sleeping due to a magnesium deficiency; funny how that works huh), I discovered this on a fluke taking it for something that I can’t even remember! Then, I discovered that the right magnesium supplement will help w/ constipation or regularity (again, a fluke by purchasing a different kind of magnesium; I’m not talking about the brand). Now I’m reading that it can help you NOT STINK WHEN YOU SWEAT! What whhhhat? Are you kidding me? I’ve been talking for the longest time about getting rid of the Secret because I can’t stand the thought of putting the aluminum into my body which could cause cancer (**side bar, took my son off commercial brands months ago and though he’s using an “all-natural” from Toms I’m still uneasy about it and looking for a good EO scent he won’t mind wearing. He’s getting tests at the end of May but it is MY BELIEF that he has high metals in his body…I can watch him eat tuna which has a lot of mercury and w/in seconds of the first bite his tics will dramatically increase, that says something). I put my son on a magnesium supplement several months ago because I read somewhere that it will help off-set the high metal (if anyone has any knowledge of this please inform me!)

***UPDATE: WE DID have tests done May 2014 however the “heavy metal” testing was a whole’nother “ordeal” that never got accomplished. Though the allergy tests were conclusive in supporting all the food allergies that I knew he was bound to have as well as some that blew me away…like EGGS! He’s allergic to the yokes AND the whites. That my friends was a punch to the gut because eggs were a staple for him, I cookED with eggs and he made eggs for himself almost daily AND he liked egg salad and boiled eggs for lunch 😦 His list of allergens? Oh boy, do you have a minute—-or ten? Beef, corn, dairy, eggs, gluten, sugar, yeast and wheat AND he tested positive for Candida. You try telling a 15 yo boy “if you eat that you’re causing more harm to your body that will give you much bigger issues as an adult” yea that pig don’t fly well! He just don’t get it but I ain’t gonna lie I understand HE’S A 15 YO BOY (that has grown to over 6′ tall—just 2 lil’ summers ago he was a “little boy” still below my shoulders)

Ok, so, what I’ve learned about magnesium since this post was originally drafted a year ago—
At least 80% of the population are Magnesium deficient and most don’t even realize because it’s not something that can be determined with a simple blood test. Magnesium benefits are far greater than anyone ever imagined. It’s a vital mineral that helps regulate calcium, potassium and sodium, and is essential for cellular health. Because your body requires and uses magnesium for so many different functions, you can quickly become low in magnesium especially if you are not consuming enough high magnesium foods. Also a diet low in high magnesium foods, or even emotional or work stress can drain magnesium from the body. Whether inherited, through a deficient diet, or even stress, a magnesium deficiency can lead to side effects of migraines, diabetes, fatigue and more!

“Some of the major functions that require magnesium are:

Protein synthesis
Nerve function
Blood sugar control
Neurotransmitter release
Blood pressure regulation
Energy metabolism
Production of the antioxidant glutathione”
“Most common causes of magnesium deficiency (that I know my son has*):

Consuming less than 3 servings of vegetables per day*
Excess alcohol consumption
A diet high in sugar and phytic acid*
Taking prescription medications like antibiotics and diuretics* (he had antibiotics many times as a child)
Poor digestive absorption due to leaky gut*”
So I knew that putting him on Magnesium was a great idea and now I’m looking into Magnesium oil that I can slip into his (homemade) bodywash or deodorant (woohoo) Magnesium I believe is going to help him w/ growing pain/cramps and soreness from ALLLLL the ball he plays (his dream is to play in the NBA), as well as help him w/ the anxiety he tends to deal w/ because of his TS. I know it’s helping him sleep, he has lil fatigue EVER and huuu-hemmm “keeping things moving” 🙂

I always suggest a real foods diet above supplementation BUT there are times we HAVE to supplement! Our food sources today are not all they should be due to mass production/growth and foods not being grown indigenously and then there’s the “round up” :/ The foods that have the highest amounts of magnesium are spinach, chard, pumpkin seeds, yogurt/kefir, almonds, black beans, avocado, figs, dark chocolate (oh yea! but just 1 square sorry), bananas, salmon, cashews and artichokes (bleck). If you’re already eating these foods and feel you have a magnesium deficiency (leg cramps/RLS, insomnia, unusual fatigue, anxiety, fibromyalgia/muscle pain, osteoporosis, migraines, type II diabetes, high blood pressure) then there are several options for a magnesium supplement depending on your “symptoms”

Magnesium Chelate – a form of magnesium bond to multiple amino acids that is in the same state as the food we consume and highly absorbable by the body.

Magnesium Citrate – is magnesium with citric acid, which has laxative properties so is often taken for constipation.

Magnesium Glycinate – is a chelated form of magnesium that tends to provide high levels of absorption and bioavailability and is typically considered ideal for those who are trying to correct a deficiency.

Magnesium Threonate – is a newer, emerging type of magnesium supplement that appears promising, primarily due to its superior ability to penetrate the mitochondrial membrane, and may be the best magnesium supplement on the market. I’ve yet to be able to find this one (I feel it’s the best source for my son)

Magnesium Chloride Oil – this form of magnesium is in oil form. It can pass through the skin and into the body. For those who struggle with digestive issues like malabsorption this is the best form of magnesium to take.

Oh and PS….the deodorant recipe that I now use and love (and it really works but it’s the consistency that took some getting used to):
¼ cup aluminum free baking soda
¼ cup arrowroot (can substitute with cornstarch)
3-5 tablespoons coconut oil
15 drops desired essential oil (I use Purify and/or Melaleuca)
1 empty deodorant container

If you have interest in learning more about Essential OIls please feel free to contact me directly or visit my website and order your kit today! And I’ve got goodies when you enroll on my team 🙂 Continuing education opportunities, tools to help you get started on your journey and all the support you need (w/ me and a plethora of groups I can add you to as well).   My suggestion for enrollment would be a kit (the one I started with knowing NOTHING about essential oils at the time but looking back wish I had gone gone bigger) 🙂  But it doesn’t matter where you start, you CAN’T GO WRONG ❤

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing through my website mydoterra.com/chellespark I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

