hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Do you eat breakfast? YOU SHOULD!

on March 6, 2015

What are your thoughts on breakfast? You do know it’s the most important meal of the day right? It’s the meal that can make or break you! It will set the tone for your day. Eating protein within an hour of waking will boost your metabolism by 30% for the day!

I’ve heard all the excuses…I don’t like to eat early (so have a shake), I’m never hungry before noon (so you like being at an unhealthy weight) and here’s the biggest…I don’t have time :/  I’m the busiest “unemployed” person I know and I eat every 3 hours. It’s just takes a lil’ planning (there’s that word again haha)

Plan ahead—plan your breakfast the night before, pick out the dish, set out the ingredients (or put together in the fridge) OR even put the dish together. You can actually COOK it tonight and warm it in the morning 🙂
Better yet, throw everything in a crock pot and eat it fresh and hot WooHoo~

Slow Cooker Bacon, Egg & Hashbrown Casserole
20 ounce bag frozen, shredded hash browns (I shred my own)
8 slices thick-cut bacon, cooked and coarsely chopped
8 ounces shredded cheddar cheese (optional but Mmmm good)
6 green onions, sliced thin
12 eggs
1/2 cup milk of choice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
Cooking oil (to lightly coat slow cooker)

Directions
Lightly grease your slow cooker with cooking oil. Layer half of the hash browns into the bottom and top with half the bacon, half the cheese, and one-third of the green onions. Set aside some bacon and green onion for garnish and then repeat with a second layer of hash brown, bacon, cheese and onion.

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, salt, and pepper and slowly pour over top. Cook until eggs are set, approximately 2-3 hours on high, or 4-5 hours on low. Sprinkle remaining bacon and onions on top and serve immediately

Nutrition Information
Serves: 8 | Serving Size: approx. 6 ounces (approx. 1 cup)
Per serving: Carbohydrate: 14g; Dietary Fiber: 2g; Sugar: 2g; Protein 21g

Nutrition Bonus: Potassium: 472mg; Iron: 12%; Vitamin A: 21%; Vitamin C: 14%; Calcium: 27%

Slow Cooker Apple Pie Steel-Cut Oatmeal
1 cup Steel-Cut Oats (I’ve used regular oats but they get smooshy)
4 cups unsweetened Almond Milk (or milk of choice)
2 medium Apples, chopped
1 teaspoon Coconut Oil
1 teaspoon Cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon Nutmeg
2 tablespoon Maple Syrup
Splash of Lemon Juice

Optional Toppings
Peanut Butter
Freshly chopped apples

Directions
Add all ingredients to your slow cooker. Stir. Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 4 hours.

Give it a good stir. Top with your favorite toppings. Store leftovers in fridge for up to 1 week. To reheat add a splash of milk and heat up in microwave.

Nutrition Information
Serves: 5 | Serving Size: 1 cup
Per serving: Carbohydrate: 31g; Dietary Fiber: 5g; Sugar: 11g; Protein 5g

Nutrition Bonus: Potassium: 109mg; Iron: 8%; Vitamin A: 9%; Vitamin C: 6%; Calcium: 40%

PS: YES, these are AdvoCare friendly (depending on what stage you’re in…remember NO DAIRY for the cleanse so omit cheeses)

SO…NO MORE EXCUSES ❤
EAT and BE HEALTHY!

I ain’t gonna lie, these breakfast ideas are not my creation! LOL I guess the nutrition info was a dead give-away on that one 😉 Find these and more at myfitnesspal.com or visit my best friend Pinterest for plethora of ideas!!

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing through my website I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of good health, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

