hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

My journey into essential oils

on February 27, 2015

My journey into essential oils started January, 2014. I was desperate to find a more natural way to help my lil’ princess.  BUT, that’s not even HOW I came across the oils. My son needed help with impulse control and after learning about nutrition and how to help him through removing foods he’s allergic to and implementing a cleaner diet (as well as supplements) I knew there was more to it. I always knew it but studying about his condition, I realized it could be so much worse than it is. The popular answer typically has various side effects. THIS was not an option for us! I refused to have my son struggle with something that could cause him troubles with sleep, weight loss and basically alter his personality. Due to his “focus” problems in school his dad has been pushing professional help for years. I discovered through research that the recommended pain and allergy medications were making them worse so I was not about to introduce something else to his system. “Essential oils” kept coming across my screen as a way to help…but what are these essential oils? Where do they come from? What are they? What do they do?

Now, let me back up a bit to share…I had heard of “essential oils” though I was unsure of what they were. I didn’t know a soul familiar with them, I had nobody “pushing’ or “helping” me to make the decision to go with this company or that brand. I did my own research on my own time without any guidance.  Contact me for brand specifics.  I chose to go w/ this brand because I feel them to have the purest quality, I appreciate the integrity of the founders’ values, I like that they harvest these oils from their indigenous areas and I love, love the education they offer. The name of this brand is latin for “gift of the earth” and they “give back”! They don’t just “pay” their farmers, it’s not always monetarily, they HELP these farmers. Just recently a group of “tourists” went to Jamaica to plant GINGER! How many of you have ever thought of going to a “foreign land” to HELP OUT…like a mission trip?

Essential Oils are pure plant botanicals extracted from every useful part of a plant, tree or flower (bark, seeds, rinds, leaves and roots). They are volatile aromatic compounds, tiny organic molecules w/ protective, reproductive and regenerative purposes. They are highly concentrated, approximately 50-70% more potent than the plant/herb. But I call them nature’s option. I’m not going to give you a bible lesson but when asked what’s so special about essential oils I have to start w/ the fact that God intended plants to help with our body’s health. They are God breathed therefore contain power from his actual words—created w/ his voice! Essential oils are divinely ordained for God’s children and are meant to be used w/ his guidance accompanied w/ prayer 🙂

Furthermore, chemicals are pervasive in our current modern way of life and this has negative consequences on the lives of our children. We are now seeing that in order to lead a healthy life we need to reduce the chemical footprint on our families. This is why essential oils have resurfaced and are becoming a key addition to a healthy lifestyle…they are a step back to a natural way of life and reducing some of the chemicals we are bombarded with each and every day.

WAIT…I have a huge announcement to make…I AM NOT A DOCTOR! I have NO medical education. Everything I know, I learned on my own studies, or having my own experiences. I’ve taken some nutrition classes, every essential oils class available and have a library of books at my disposal but I am first of all just a mom trying keep my family in good health as naturally as possible. YES, I’m of the understanding that you can find information to support everything you believe in….and I believe in essential oils! I’ve spent numerous hours researching every aspect of essential oils before taking the plunge into purchasing a “kit”. I looked at the background of the “big” names, taking time to read up on the founders of those companies and learned where and how the oils were sourced!

When these seven founders started up the company they each put up their own properties/assets up as collateral and they agreed they wouldn’t receive an income until the company was self-sufficient (they went 13 months w/ no income, to me that’s integrity!). They opted to NOT allow outside investors which would compromise the product because investors would be more concerned about the almighty dollar than about the quality of the product. Rather than owning all the farms growing these plants they “help” already established farmers growing them in their indigenous countries also making them more beneficial than say Lavender grown in NC. And they are harvested at the optimal time of year. (Frankincense/Oman, Lemongrass/India, Ginger/Jamaica, Hawaiin Sandalwood/Hawaii, Vetiver/Haiti, etc..) This is called co-impact sourcing… Growers in foreign lands are often unorganized with limited access to information and layers of “middle men”, limited resources and capacity, harvesting immature plants out of season with little incentive to produce higher quality but then this company sees the potential of these lands! “They” step in with teaching, training, capacity building and coordinated services helping them become organized in cooperatives. It helps improve growing and harvesting practices to achieve optimal oil yield and ensure sustainability. They have a “Healing Hands” foundation which funds projects to benefit grower communities for improved overall livelihoods. THIS was the company I wanted to be a part of!

I will say, I believe that a nutrient dense diet is THE BEST thing for my family’s overall health (and yours too). As for the effectiveness of the oils, I personally don’t think essential oils should ever take the place of a good diet, but I think well-made oils from a reputable source can help aid the body in recovery and promote better health. I’ve learned ways they can be used in combination with the right diet to help sustain a healthy lifestyle.

As far as other oil companies go…I ain’t gonna lie, my mama always told me if ya can’t say somethin’ nice then don’t say nut’n at all~ Do the research! Make your own decisions! But if you’re ready to join my team contact me for website details  and sign up as a Wellness Advocate to receive the deepest discounts (25% off retail). Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have before getting started 😉

 

**DISCLAIMER:  This website (including any/all site pages, blog posts, blog comments, forum, videos, audio recordings, etc.) is not intended to replace the services of a physician, nor does it constitute a doctor-patient relationship. Information is provided for informational  purposes only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice. You should not use the information on this website for diagnosing or treating a medical or health condition. If you have or suspect you have an urgent medical problem, promptly contact your professional healthcare provider. Any application of the recommendations from this blog is at the reader’s discretion. AdvoCare is not liable for any direct or indirect claim, loss or damage resulting from use of this website and/or any web site(s) linked to/from it. I am an independant distributor of both AdvoCare and Essential Oils and I simply share my personal experiences with said products (y)

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

