hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

New Year New You AdvoCare 24 Day Challenge / Cleanse / Day 6

on January 10, 2015

I feel skinny, oh so skinny, I feel skinny, so skinny, YES ME (ok so I KNOW you had that same “oh so pretty” tune running through your head too HaHa)

Technically today is still day 5 but I like to post a day early so that if you’re following my meal plan you’ll be prepared (slightly lol). It literally JUST occurred to me that maybe I should’ve already stated that it is totally unrealistic think there aren’t going to be times that we just NEED “something”. You know what I mean 😉 something sweet or something crunchy or something just totally OFF plan. Well, here’s what I did on my first 24DC and still had total success! In the evenings if that sweet-tooth dared to slap me in the face my first response was to go for a lil’ Spark & 3/Catalyst. But what can you do if it’s too close to bedtime? You don’t want to eat anything heavy or something that will keep you awake!

I found several options that worked for me and didn’t make me feel I’d gone off track and/or GUILTY (if you know what I mean): #1 Small apple w/ natural peanut butter #2 Natural peanut butter on (homemade) graham cracker #3 Banana/Oatmeal cookies w/ Lily’s chocolate chips (2 very ripe organic medium bananas + 1 cup gluten-free rolled oats. Add in: 1/4 cup or dried fruit or nuts or even spices like a teaspoon of ground cinnamon. Bake 12-15 mins on 350) #4 Kirklands Nut Clusters (careful stick to a “serving” these are addictive)

Listen! If you need a treat, EAT a treat! Don’t kick yourself in the teeth (is that even possible) just put your feet back down and stand strong. I just know, at least for me, IF I stray a lil’, it makes me wanna stray a lot so CHOOSE WISELY! (Remember, sugar will make you crave…MORE SUGAR! Sugar free does not have to mean sweet free!) 😉

It also occurred to me today that I haven’t been REMINDING you to take the OMEGAPLEX! This is definitely an important step! And another thing…IF you forget to take a pill pack at the recommended time DON’T FRET OVER IT just take it “later”

I’m having a pudding for snack tomorrow that needs to be prepared tonight so make a note if you’re including it in your meal plan 🙂

Day 6 / Cleanse:
Sparkin’ it w/ some Probiotics (& Catalyst/3 if taking that option)

BREAKFAST: Pancakes/SF Syrup (I make Vegan) w/ bacon AND eggs (family likes a big Sat. breakfast)
SNACK: THM Vanilla Strawberry Pudding
LUNCH: Tuna White Bean Avocado Salad w/ rice crackers and fruit salad
SNACK: Almonds and Blueberries
DINNER: (4/Omega) Pesto Shrimp over brown rice (or quinoa) and steamed broccoli (nutritional yeast)
DESSERT: GF Fudge No-Bakes (it’s the weekend and your family needs dessert!)

THM VANILLA STRAWBERRY PUDDING:
1 cup strawberries, fresh or frozen
1 cup milk (I used almond milk)
1 tbsp honey
1 tsp pure vanilla
the juice of one lemon
3 tbsp chia seeds

Directions:
In the bowl of your food processor or blender, combine all the ingredients except chia seeds and process until smooth.
Pour mixture into two jars. Add 1.5 tablespoons to each jar. Put the lid on and give it a good shake to incorporate chia. Shake again before you go to bed and let it rest in the refrigerator overnight. It will keep two days in the fridge.

TUNA, WHITE BEAN & AVOCADO SALAD:
1 can tuna, packed in extra virgin olive oil (I prefer water)
15 oz cannellini beans, canned (drained and rinsed) or dry (soaked and cooked)
1 avocado, diced
2 tbsp. golden balsamic vinegar
1 very small garlic clove, or 1/2 a larger clove, pressed
2 tbsp. fresh parsley, chopped
salt and pepper

Drain the heavy oil off the tuna then spoon the tuna and remaining oil into a medium bowl. Add the beans, avocado, vinegar, garlic and parsley. Season with salt and pepper and stir gently to combine.

PESTO SHRIMP:
1 cup fresh basil leaves, chopped
1 clove garlic
1/4 cup nutritional yeast (for cheese flavor)
3 tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 lbs jumbo shrimp, peeled and deveined
kosher salt and fresh pepper to taste

Directions:
In a food processor pulse basil, garlic, nutritional yeast, salt and pepper until smooth. Slowly add the olive oil while pulsing.
Combine raw shrimp with pesto and marinate a few hours in a bowl.
Original recipe was for grilling purposes but I’ll be baking these on 350 for approx 15 mins (try not to over cook or they will be too chewy…go by your shrimp bag cooking instructions)

GF FUDGE NO BAKES:
1/2 cup honey*
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup coconut oil (no substitutions are suitable besides butter)
1/2 cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 and 1/4 cup chopped peanuts (I used dry roasted + salted)

Directions:
Line a large cookie sheet with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper. Set aside.
In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine the honey, cocoa powder, and coconut oil. Stir until all is melted. The mixture will be very thick. Allow to boil for about 1 minute. Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter and salt until completely smooth.
Add the sunflower seeds and peanuts, mixing well to make sure all is coated with the chocolate/peanut butter mixture. Using a spoon, drop mixture into small piles on prepared baking sheet. I measured roughly 1.5 Tablespoons of “dough” each, to make 15 cookies. Make them as big or small as you wish.
Transfer cookies to the refrigerator and allow to set, about 1 hour. Serve cookies immediately to avoid the chocolate from melting. Store cookies in the refrigerator (covered) for up to 7 days.
*Maple syrup may be used instead of honey.

Herbal Cleanse pill pack at bedtime (don’t worry, just ONE MORE NIGHT!)

It’s been asked, “Can I have butter on the cleanse?” Butter IS dairy but butter is the better option when you’re others are margarine or PAM :/ As a dairy-free family, we use coconut oil whether as a butter replacement in baking or using for on non-stick surfaces. Coconut oil can withstand the higher heats of the oven where Olive Oil cannot.

PS…I almost forgot to confess 😉 After the basketball game tonight, it was late, we were tired and our options were slim. We had a choice of McDonalds, Wendys (been 2 years since we’ve been those places), Mexican or Pizza Buffet. We chose the buffet where I had a HUGE salad w/ ham, egg, cucumber and tomatoes w/ 1000 Island (oddly enough 1000 Island has less sugar than ALL the others found on salad bars), 2 slices of “meats” pizza w/o the crust and a slice of dessert pizza (shudder). YES, I feel like POOOOOO and I’m sure tomorrow I’ll truly suffer! Was it good…absolutely! Was it worth, well now that’s another story. I ain’t gonna lie, I enjoyed every bite…until all the bites settled 😦

 

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing through my website I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

 

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

