hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Are you REALLY gluten free?

on November 22, 2014

I find myself so busy every day of my life that there are some things in life which get put on the back burner…blogging being one of those things 😉 I literally spend my days in the kitchen! “Surely you jest!” I jest thou not HaHa Yesterday I turned 3 lbs of raw almonds into almond flour/meal (was going to weigh it for you but have misplaced my kitchen scale), 2 cups almond butter, 4 cups of unsweetened almond milk and all the lil’ leftover crushed pieces (that were too big to sift for the flour) I added into the mix for my homemade cereal. I spent hours helping other people w/ their essential oil questions, needs, and name conversions (thank the FDA for that one…and don’t even get me started on that). Not to mention due to all the cooking, I ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS have dishes overflowing my sink and onto my countertop 😦 (I have this one friend and every single cotton pickin time she has ever been to my house my kitchen is a disaster and I spend her entire visit washing dishes so yesterday I opted to SIT down w/ her; she started at the counter where she always is and then realized I wasn’t working so she joined me in comfort lol) Anyway, I’m still working on healing my family naturally through nutrition, essential oils and the right supplements (just in case you were wondering) ❤

Have you decided to remove gluten from your diet yet? Whether out of need due to allergies or simply because you’ve realized how bad (today’s wheat) is for you? I thought letting you know all the hidden names of wheat would be beneficial. Gluten being the easiest part of our restricted diet (I mean, you can find gluten free stuff all over the grocery store shelves now!) it helped me a lot to know all the hidden names! I mean, we started out eating Spelt bread, well, though it’s “better for you”, it’s still wheat!

I am almost out of Catalyst AND I just finished off the ThermoPlus…how could this be? I’m freaking out a lil’ HaHa Time to place an order at http://www.chellespark.com

Sorry, for that short commercial break! Now, back to our regularly scheduled program…The Hidden Names of Wheat Products

Gluten is a protein found in some grains, wheat, barley and rye are most notable. Gluten can hide under other names, some are just other names for flour, some are ingredients made from gluten containing grains. Keep your eyes open for these lil’ boogars. You know some of the obvious items that will contain gluten, that is bread, flour, tortillas, pita bread, cakes, pies and muffins. But did you realize it can also be found in things like corn tortillas, alcohol and vinegar?

GRAINS AND FLOURS: Wheat, Barley, Rye, Spelt, Bran, Flour, Graham flour, Farina, Durum, Semolina

OTHER NAMES THAT CONTAIN WHEAT: These aren’t always made from wheat, but unless you can confirm with the makers that it’s gluten free, avoid them…
Glucose (a sugar that can be derived from wheat (it will say “wheat” on the label in the USA if it’s there.) It’s very processed and tests show a low gluten level, but some people have reported reactions.)
Vitamin E (sometimes derived from wheat germ, even found in many beauty products)
Modified food starch (this is usually corn or soy (both items that we avoid). If it contains wheat, it must say “wheat” on the label)
Tocopheryls (this means Vitamin E)
Natural Flavors (sometimes made from barley, especially in caramel)
Hydrolized Vegetable Protein (in many vegetarian meat replacements and shampoo)
Maltodextrin (this is usually from corn and must say “wheat” on the label if it’s made from wheat)

WHITE VINEGAR. Some people are okay eating it, but with all the alternatives out there (rice vinegar, balsamic vinegar, white wine vinegar) you don’t need to.

OATS are typically a gluten free product but the issue comes from cross-contamination so if you’re celiac, it’s best to stick w/ the known/listed gluten free specific version.

Here’s just a few more names not listed above to watch out for: brewers yeast, brown flour, bulgur, couscous, dextrimaltose, edible starch, oat gum, yeast extract, and free glutamate

NOW, w/ all the restrictions we have in our home, a lot of the alternatives are out as well but that’s ok, because I’m learning (trial & error) daily how to work around those. YES, it’s a lot of work but my family is so worth it ❤

PS…the essential oils brand that we personally use are this brand and can be found on my website, I’m always available to answer questions 🙂 My #1 recommendation is that you join as your own Wellness Advocate in order to receive the wholesale prices (and the $35 cost of enrollment is included if you choose to start by purchasing a kit, but this is not required). Looking back, I wish I had borrowed the money to purchase one of the larger kits but I chose to start w/ the Home Essentials Kit (and NOW, it comes WITH a diffuser, something you are going to WANT!) I will receive compensation for your enrollment and I can explain how you can receive compensation as well 😉 Please feel free to contact me any time chellemills@ymail.com

 

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing through my website I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

