hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

I need a meal planner!

on November 9, 2014

I’m telling you, the restrictions that my son have for foods is going to be the death of me (On my own I had set out to remove a lot of the items before knowing for a fact that he was allergic. I just watched him and paid attention to how certain foods caused him to react. My thoughts in following through w/ the IgG tests was that w/ proof his dad would finally adhere to the restrictions..NOT!). He comes home Tuesday and I haven’t yet taken the time to work on a meal plan…AND I’M FREAKING OUT, starting to get a lil’ stressed. Having a meal plan in place before he comes home helps me to stay sane when it comes to meal times. Without it, I wake up and walk in circles trying to figure out how to feed him. He’s allergic to beef, corn, dairy, eggs, gluten, yeast, wheat and 2 molds (not sure which ones though ) and because he has Candida he can’t have sugar (which we’ve been off that for a couple years however that also includes “natural sugars”), no honey, no maple syrup, no molasses, no date sugar…I mean the list seems endless. Coming to the realization tonight that the clock is ticking, I had to stop and take the time to ask God once again for his wisdom and guidance

There’s a few “health food” items that I’ve used in the past, seen more of lately or recently heard of that I’d like to share a few facts about…

Medjool dates: Dates are high in fiber and potassium but they’re 70% sugar by weight. My husband has started eating these every day, as his dessert and I had been using them as a base for several desserts for the rest of the family (I was even about to make a batch of “date paste”). However, due to the candida and the “no date sugar” I’m guessing that means dates are on the avoid list. Each serving of 3 pitted dates provides 199 calories, 54 grams of carbs, 5 grams of sugar, 14% of our daily potassium and 5 grams dietary fiber. That doesn’t seem like enough fiber to justify the amount of carbs. If you’re good with portion control or are carb loading for a marathon, they are totally worth it!

Spelt flour: Ground spelt, a grain existing since biblical times, has become a trendy wheat flour alternative. BUT as w/ wheat, I am of the belief that this too has become more of a hybrid and we choose to avoid it as it still has gluten, though spelt flour contains LESS gluten. Nutrition-wise, spelt flour is similar to 100% whole wheat flour. (But keep in mind that the wheat we have today is not truly 100% wheat, it’s mass produced, hybridized and modified. It is NOT the same perfect, healthy wheat that God gave his people)

Nutritional yeast: When avoiding dairy I turned a lot to these dried yellow flakes which resemble fish food! Nutritional yeast is made from purified cane or beet molasses and gives a savory, almost cheesy taste to your dishes. It’s high in protein and full of B-vitamins making it useful for vegans who tend to have a harder time getting enough vitamin B12. Each 1/4 cup provides 45 calories and 6 grams of protein, so try it on popcorn or mixed into scrambled eggs, soups, stews and sandwich spread. For vegans (or really anyone looking to get some extra protein and B-vitamins), this powdery gold is awesome! But for us, it’s no longer acceptable because is is YEAST

This just keeps getting harder huh?!

Pea protein powder: The protein powder market, long dominated by milk-based proteins like whey and casein, are now heralding plant-based options like pea protein. The downside? It doesn’t contain all 9 essential amino acids therefore it should be complemented with rice protein or I’m okay with taking amino acid supplements (aka Catalyst). Nutritionally it’s similar to whey protein isolate but just as peas, it’s green and my children find it a lil’ grainy so we’ve had to stop trying to sneak it in their smoothies. Otherwise it’s a great alternative to whey protein for dairy-free peeps.

Hemp milk: Hemp milk is made from ground hemp seeds blended with water and is fortified with vitamins A, C, D, B12, and B2. Now, I’ve never tried hemp milk before but I do have some hemp protein powder which is again green and a lil’ grainy but it doesn’t have a whole lot of protein in it. And I have a problem w/ things that are “fortified” or “enriched” because that means “stuff” has been removed and then added back in. How can that be healthy?! Compared to 2% reduced-fat cow’s milk, hemp milk is lower in calories but has only half the protein. If you can’t drink cow’s milk and want an alternative it’ll work. My family has opted to keep homemade, unsweet almond milk on hand but if they’re wanting cereal, vanilla rice milk is the best option for us.

Ghee: What the heck is Ghee? That doesn’t even sound like a real word, it sounds like one of the verbal tics my son might come out with. Ghee, or clarified butter (hello? butter..dairy…just say’n), is made by warming butter and separating the fat from the milk proteins, whey and casein, making it generally safe for those with dairy allergies. Generally?  That’s not good enough for me!  I know dairy free peep who use it w/o problem, I however will not be one of those willing to try 🙂  Ghee also happens to be more heat-stable compared to butter, allowing you to use it for high-heat searing and deep frying without an offensive burnt taste. Ghee does contain more short- and medium-chain fatty acids than regular butter, but tablespoon for tablespoon, ghee provides the same amount of fat and calories as traditional butter so it’s best to use it in moderation. ME? I’ll just stay away from that and continue using my coconut oil. GHEE, the sound of that word just makes me laugh.

NOW, I’m off to get started on a meal plan that oddly enough I just realized does NOT include any of the above.

H-E-L-P M-E!!! :/

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

