hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Gluten Free Bread Recipes and Foods We Should ALL Avoid

on September 29, 2014

I believe the worst aspect of going GF has been taking the bread out of our menu (because quite frankly GF bread is not really bread, not in the way that you have soft, white bread for a tomato sandwich). I’ve tried more than a dozen recipes for making sandwich bread. Most of them are good as toast, IF you add honey (or something) on it but definitely not sandwiches. Wellllll….I’ve searched the world over and thought I found true love (I use to love Hee-Haw haha)…I did, I did, I did find a putty tat..oh wait…

I found an Almond bread that is to die for! (It’s baking in my oven as we speak) It’s good for toast w/ honey, peanut butter or jelly, it’s even good for a peanut butter and jelly SANDWICH (because it’s a lil’ sweet). But last night I made a Cashew Butter bread that (hold on to your britches wheat-belly free mamas) is acceptable for sandwich bread. I mean NOT JUST PB&J but turkey, ham and yes, maybe even tomatoes!

How did I make these said breads? Well, I’m glad you asked, let me tell ya 😉

Almond bread: (I can’t remember where I found this original recipe :/ or I WOULD give credit!!)
5 cups Almond flour (which I MADE)
1 heaping tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 Tbsp raw honey (I use 4)
6 organic eggs
2 tsp ACV
Mix it all together and bake 300 for 40 minutes

Grain-free Sandwich Bread (Paleo and SCD)
AUTHOR: Danielle Walker – AgainstAllGrain.com
1 cup smooth raw cashew butter (which I MADE)
4 large eggs, separated
1 tablespoon honey (I used 2)
2.5 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
¼ cup almond milk (which I MADE)
¼ cup coconut flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon sea salt
Preheat your oven to 300 degrees. For a white colored loaf as in the photo, place a small dish of water on the bottom rack. (*Notes included w/ instructions are from Danielle)
Line the bottom of an 8.5×4.5 glass loaf pan with parchment paper, then spread a very thin coating of coconut oil on the sides of the pan.
Beat the cashew butter with the egg yolks, then add the honey, vinegar, and milk. I’ve done this with both electric hand beaters and a stand mixer and both seem to work equally as well. I would not try to make this by hand due to the stickiness of the butter.
Beat the egg whites in a separate bowl until peaks form. I used an electric hand mixer, but if you want a bicep workout, you can also do it by hand.
Combine the dry ingredients in another small bowl. Sorry for all of the dishes!
Make sure your oven is completely preheated before adding the egg whites and the dry ingredients to the cashew butter mixture. You don’t want your whites to fall, and the baking soda will activate once it hits the eggs and vinegar.
Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, and beat until combined. This will result in more of a wet batter than a dough. Make sure to get all of the sticky butter mixture off of the bottom of the bowl so you don’t end up with clumps.
Pour the beaten egg whites into the cashew butter mixture, beating again until just combined. You don’t have to be gentle with this, but don’t over mix.
Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan, then immediately put it into the oven.
Bake for 45-50 minutes, until the top is golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Don’t be tempted to open the oven door anytime before 40 minutes, as this will allow the steam to escape and you will not get a properly risen loaf.
Remove from the oven, then let cool for 15-20 minutes. Use a knife to free the sides from the loaf pan, then flip it upside down and release the loaf onto a cooling rack. Cool right-side up for an hour before serving.
Wrap the loaf up tightly and store in the fridge for 1 week. I actually think the loaf gets better as the days go on.

…and you’re welcome 🙂

**To make cashew butter, take 1 cup (or how ever much you want depending on how quickly you’ll use it) of raw (unsalted) cashews and simply grind them into butter. You know I do not kid around about such!

**To make almond flour, (the EASY way) take 1 cup of raw almonds and grind them to a fine powder like consistency (but not so long that it started to get “wet” or you’ll have almond butter! See, you learned two recipes at once). I always “sift” the flour and the big pieces can be used for “topping”, as a crust or a meat coating.

No matter what “diet” you choose to follow be it high protein – low carb, Vegan, Paleo, Gluten-free or “whatever” there are several foods we should ALL stop eating for HEALTH and/or moral reasons:

1. NON-ORGANIC STRAWBERRIES
One industry insider mentioned that strawberry farmers have to wear protective suits while applying pesticides to their crops. I don’t know about you, but I’d rather not ingest something that required a Breaking Bad getup to harvest. Forking over the extra couple bucks for organic berries doesn’t sound so bad now!

2. CANNED TOMATOES
It turns out that the linings of tin cans contain bisphenol-A (or BPA), a “synthetic estrogen that has been linked to ailments ranging from reproductive problems to heart disease, diabetes and obesity.” Yikes. Luckily, the can is the culprit in this scenario, not the tomatoes, so opting for glass containers is the best way to go. IF you happen to find said glass containers please let me know b/c I always KNEW there was “something” about those tin cans I’VE BEEN USING

3. INDUSTRIALLY PRODUCED HAMBURGERS
Considering most cattle are injected with growth hormones, stuffed with genetically modified corn, and raised in horrible conditions, it’s kind of weird that we still consider fast food burgers edible. Opting for grass-fed beef is a good idea when you’re craving cheeseburgers — there are not too many restaurants offering this option so it’s best to keep the burgers to your own grill (although, there is a Grass-Fed Burger Bar in downtown Greensboro, NC have you ever tried it?)

4. CORN
Like strawberries, corn is also a victim of the pesticide monster, but on a slightly different level. On top of being sprayed with chemicals, corn is also genetically engineered to produce its own pesticides … to kill bees. Kind of creepy, right? I’ve talked to people who used to grow corn themselves and even they said they HAVE to spray the ground where the corn grows before it grows…STILL, the corns grows up through it Unfortunately, it’s extremely difficult to avoid corn entirely, seeing as it’s a main ingredient in so many processed food products. Yet another reason why we should eat less high fructose corn syrup!

5. WHITE CHOCOLATE
We’re all well aware that cacao is, in fact, good for us. Unfortunately, white chocolate is missing that key ingredient, leaving all the bad stuff and no good excuse to defend your dessert choice with. Stick to eating the dark chocolate 86% or higher (in moderation!). Wanna hear something ironic? I used to think that white chocolate had to be “better for you” because it didn’t have color but then one day it hit me, CHOCOLATE? SHOULDN’T THAT BE BROWN/BLACK 8D

6. SPROUTS
I know right, how could something like sprouts possibly be bad for you?! Well, apparently sprouts have been the subject of so many food recalls now that they’re just not worth it anymore (unless you’re into E. coli or salmonella). An alternative to sprouts? Try shredded cabbage or carrots to get that crunchy texture on sandwiches and in salads. I honestly can’t say I’ve ever eaten a sprout so no worries there (heehee)

7. BUTTER-FLAVORED MICROWAVE POPCORN
Though I gave this up long ago, I can still remember licking the bag afterwards lol~ Just from the looks of it, you can tell that faux butter is definitely bad for you (it basically glows in the dark). One of the chemicals in that sweet, sweet yellow “butter,” diacetyl, is actually harmful to factory workers, and can lead to a disease called “popcorn lung.” The solution to this one is easy, and tastes way better: using real, melted butter. But there again, it’s CORN!

8. CHAIN RESTAURANT ICE CREAM SUNDAES
They’re huge, they’re full of corn syrup, cellulose gum, and vegetable shortening, and they’re just plain old fattening. Considering how much more fun for the kids making sundaes at home is, fast food options don’t even seem worth it. And there not! The last time I thought a McDonald’s $1 sundae was a good idea, I got sick as a dawg! McD

I ain’t gonna lie, there are so many others I could add to the list right now but I’d rather YOU tell ME, what are some foods you think we should ALL AVOID…

2 responses to “Gluten Free Bread Recipes and Foods We Should ALL Avoid

  1. Margaret says:

    Can you tell me if I can use my advocare shakes on THM? Would they be an E or an S? Thank you!

    • chellemills says:

      Margaret that depends on HOW HARD CORE you are w/ THM! I don’t following a strict THM plan therefore I use the AdvoCare MRS and call it an E. The down fall to the MRS on THM is the 12 grams of sugar!!!! Sugar is not even considered a cross-over. If you’re heavy into THM you’d be better off to buy the Swanson’s (I think that’s the approved brand of protein). You know I LOVE my AdvoCare but I do wish they’d consider using Stevia rather than sugar and sucralose :/ Good luck w/ your journey and let me know if I can help out in any way 😉

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

