hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Day 9 AdvoCare Cleanse (following THM)

on September 22, 2014

So yesterday I woke up feeling like I might be getting a bladder infection. Due to the fact that I had those painful, sudden urges to pee (& even then it just trickled) so often that I opted to skip church (which I NEVER do). What did I do? I put 2 drops of Oregano on each of my feet and Protective Blend across where the pain was on my abdomen. I did this 3 times during the day. Today I wake up to a James Brown song shouting in my head “Get on up (YELL) get on up”. I cannot make this stuff up y’all. Where does that come from? I KNOW my subconscious is NOT thinking about James Brown! LoL~ BUT, I have NO painful, sudden urges to pee…i just need to regular pee 😉

This morning found me in the floor by the bed (YES, this was on purpose haha), 10 easy push-ups (which means it’s time to increase my count), 25 crunches, butt-lifts (Idk that’s what it’s really called but laying on my back, knees bent, feet flat on the floor and push my butt up off the floor), and bicycles (I kid you not, my abs were seriously still store from Wednesday’s class UNTIL THIS MORNING). After school drop off I did a mile + 1/3 walk.

Day 9: Spark + fiber + 16 oz water + Probiotic pack + (3) Catalyst. Followed by another 16 oz water.

Breakfast: Sweet Cinnamon Quinoa w/ fresh cranberries. (THM/E) 16 oz water. Then I had a GGMS 🙂
Snack: Wasa cracker w/ cucumber slices (on-the-go). 32 oz water. (THM/E)
Lunch: Green salad w/ grilled chicken and small apple. 12 oz water. (THM/E)
Snack: (5) Nut Clusters (while making dinner). 16 oz water. (THM/S)
Dinner: Baked Chicken, Cream Spinach and Mashed Cauliflower. 32 oz water. (THM/S)
Dessert: No Bake Cookies.

Sweet Cinnamon Quinoa: Cooked quinoa, add sweetener of choice w/ cinnamon and unswt almond milk. Stir. Top w/ cranberries (or raisins). This had a pretty good taste if you can get past the texture (lil’ Princess looked at it right away and said, “I know I’m not gonna like that”). (Original THM recipe) **Tip, whenever I fix quinoa, I always make extra to put in a baggie and freeze in individual serving size for a quick lunch add-on 🙂

GGMS: Have I shared this w/ y’all before? I can’t remember! This is THM’s Good Girl Moonshine and even my kids are hooked on it (it took me a while to get the taste acceptable for me but now it’s perfected). 2 c water, 1.5 Tbsp ACV, 1/2 tsp ginger, juice from small lemon, 5-6 strawberries, and sweetener (3 pks Truvia)

Baked Chicken: 350 – 45 mins w/ liberal spices (I drizzled EVOO & balsamic vinegar, sprinkled onion/garlic powders and topped w/ rosemary).
Cream Spinach: Saute chopped garlic in tsp coconut oil, add spinach and “heavy cream” (I used DF cashew cream..soak 1 cup cashews for 1 hour, put in blender w/ 1 cup fresh water and blend away)
Mashed Cauliflower: Fix just like mashed potatoes. Steam cauliflower, add to blender and mix til smooth. Add desired seasonings (I use salt, garlic pepper and sometimes parsley)

No Bake Cookies: Mix all ingredients. 1/3 c almond butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/3 soft coconut oil, 2 Tbsp raw honey, 1/2 c unswt shredded coconut, 1/2 almond slivers (I used raw, recipe calls for salted/roasted), 1/2 c GF pretzels (I used extra almonds), 1/4 c mini chocolate chips (I use Lilly’s allergen free chips). Roll into balls and place in freezer until firm. Store in airtight container in fridge or freezer.

After your cleanse is over, don’t go back to eating at McDonalds and buying processed garbage from the grocery store shelves. Adding AdvoCare supplements into your daily routine will help you to fill in the nutritional gaps but it won’t do ALL the work, you still have be smart and make wiser choices than you did before starting. You’ve still got plenty of time to keep working on HOW to eat for weight loss and maintenance before the holidays hit (WOW, can you believe I just said that? We’ve got Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas happening over the next three months). I’m gonna share some secrets and tips to help you stay healthy not only over the holiday season but year round. Tips to ensure that you lose-weight, feel great and have the best holiday season yet. Don’t wait until the new year to start those resolutions!!

#1 Drink half your body weight in water ounces daily. This will keep you hydrated, detoxify, and reduce the desire to eat when your body is actually thirsty. I’m always telling my teen son “grab a bottle of water first!”

#2 Increase your fiber. Aim for 50 grams/day. This can be done by increasing fruits, vegetables, nuts and legumes to balance your blood sugar & increase bowel movements. Looks through older posts for a list of fiber choices.

#3 Know what foods tend to cause you temptation. And get them out of your house!

#4 Have a fruit and vegetable smoothie for breakfast loaded with healthy protein to keep you fuller longer. My favorite is a Green Detox Smoothie (I believe I got the recipe from sugarfreemom.com). Hefty handful of spinach (and I like to add the 7 Superfood Salad Mix), juice from a lemon, cored green apple, 1/2-1 c unswt almond milk, ice and blend blend).

#5 Eat every 2.5-3 hours and carry snacks with you. This will keep your metabolism burning and increase your chances of making better choices…not to mention keep you away from the drive-thru or food court.

#6 Stop going through the kitchen to grab a snack before bed. Your body needs to detox at night, not digest your food.

#7 No cheating! Cheat meals lead to cheat days. A healthy lifestyle is just that. Look at your healthy decisions as a healthy lifestyle as opposed to a diet that can be broken. Choose a “plan” that you can live w/ it, don’t get sucked into a “low-carb, low-fat diet”, you need healthy fats AND carbs in your body. Don’t get stuck in a rut w/ the same things all the time. Venture out into some variety. Look up old posts for recipe ideas. But hey, don’t beat yourself up for having a “treat” every now and then, just don’t make it a daily habit!

#8 If you have a hard time saying NO, stick to the 3-bite rule. If you want to be polite and try a calorie-laden food that a co-worker brought to work, eat 3 small polite bites and then throw the rest away.

#9 Fill up on the healthy stuff first. Load your plate with fruits, vegetables, high-quality protein, high-quality fats (like avocado, coconut and olive oil), beans and legumes. After you finish that, if you want to have dessert, have a couple of bites. This way you get to indulge but you’re full of good food first. IF I go to a buffet, I completely fill my plate w/ SALAD/protein and I’m generally too full for a second trip 😉 BUT, if there’s a favorite dessert available I’ll get a very small portion (and then I tend to have a headache afterwards SO BE SURE IT’S WORTH IT).

#10 Bring your own food to the family potluck or church function. This way you’ll know for sure that something there will be suitable for you to eat. This is especially true if you have food allergies or choose not to eat gluten, dairy or sugar. I promise, if you tell other people it’s GF DF SF they will not want it so there’s plenty for you HaHa (but then they see how much you enjoy it and they always come over w/ fork in hand to check it out)

#11 Eat before you go to a function w/ food. This way if the food is super unhealthy, or the meal is very delayed, you don’t cave into temptation to eat the entire bread basket.

#12 Get plenty of sleep each night (7 to 9 hours). I will admit that I fail terribly in this area. 6 hours is my limit, not that I WANT just 4-6 hours, my body just likes to be up and on the go lol~

#13 Reward yourself with non-food rewards. Get a massage. Take a bubble bath w/ your favorite book. Keep a (more expensive) item on your wish list and once reaching your goals splurge on that!

#14 Practice gratitude. Write down 3 things every day you are grateful for. See how many days you can go w/o duplicating. I know this was a big FaceBook “game” a couple weeks ago (I completed the challenge of posting 3 things I’m grateful for 7 days in a row).

#15 Schedule in time for what you love. Put running, walking, baths, massages, facials, etc in your schedule. And then follow through!

#16 Schedule your workouts and stick to it.

#17 Keep a food journal. Those that keep a food journal are much more likely to lose weight. I find that having to tell you what I’m eating everyday helps to keep me on track! Having it on paper will allow you to see which foods cause bloating, pain, weight gains/losses and helps you to better tweek your diet.

#18 Allow a best-friend to call you out and hold you accountable for your food and drink choices when you go out.

#19 Slowly replace items you buy w/ healthier choices. Instead of cow’s milk, reach for almond milk. Instead of white potatoes, cook sweet potatoes. You get the idea. Don’t try to do it all at once to avoid getting overwhelmed. Some adjustments will take time!

#20 Plan your cheats. When you go out, know that you will have a couple of foods you don’t normally eat. That’s okay. Don’t over do it and don’t be hard on yourself. Guilt is no good.

#21 Separate your emotions from food. When you’re upset at the kids (or your mate), don’t turn to the bag of Oreos. If you find that eating helps, grab an apple, add a tsp of peanut butter and sit on the back porch to enjoy it alone, or walk the dog 😉

#22 Try, try, try to RELAX and ENJOY yourself. Remember God’s blessings on your life as you look around at your family (“count your many blessings, name them one by one”)

 

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing through my website I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

 

2 responses to “Day 9 AdvoCare Cleanse (following THM)

  1. Salina says:

    On your GGMS do you put that in a blender??

    • chellemills says:

      Salina, I DO put it in my vitamix because I use frozen strawberries to make a strawberry lemonade version. For the original you could just do a “shake shake shake” depending on the ginger (ground ginger will settle on the bottom) 😉

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

