hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

I’m learning to concoct, compose and convert

on July 15, 2014

Y’all know I’m always honest and up front about how I eat. If I’m eating 80% clean, I’m happy, healthy and feeling my best. But it’s when I slip that I don’t feel like sucha hot-spark-mama (no matter how much Spark I drink lol). I’m learning to take favorite family dishes and twist the ingredients around to fit our needs…sometimes it’s a big fat FAIL but though hard to believe, from time to time there’s S-U-C-C-E-S-S (reminds me of a cheer we did as kiddo cheerleaders haha).

Our teenagers at church are taking a trip to NY this summer and there latest (& final) fundraiser was a bake sale & car wash. I had the amount set in my head that I was going to donate but then being faced w/ SUGARY SWEETS and my husband NOT tagging along to see me cheat, I caved and purchased 3 cupcakes (Reese cup & Strawberry) and an oatmeal creme cookie. I even mentioned to the girl that these “treats” would probably wind up in my trash can b/c we don’t eat sugar anymore (and I felt somewhat guilty for not LEAVING them there to just re-sell). Let me tell ya, that REESE CUP CUPCAKE looked so delish that I couldn’t even wait until I got home, the temptation of seeing it ride along w/ me was just too much (& much to my dismay for NOT following through, I even thought I’d stop at the gas station trash bin and get rid of the evidence of my impromptu purchase…) I TASTED I ain’t gonna lie, I DEVOURED it~ Reese

On the way home, I kept thinking, “I bet I could re-create that!” I made it my life’s mission to do so…so much in fact that I spent the entire DAY working on it! (Let me tell ya how good my family is, daughter said, “Oh no! I won’t be having that” and my husband just non-chalantly said, “That’s nothing but sugar; maybe later.” I was so impressed by their will-power…huh hem—blowing on my nails to shine & polish—I taught them that LOL Yea, right, so why don’t I concede to the power of NO?) I made homemade “reese cups” from http://www.sugarfreemom.com (I use Lilly’s chocolate chips)
I mixed a batch of gluten free flour from http://www.forkandbeans.com (Cara has got the easiest explanation of any other I’ve discovered)
I mixed up SF brown sugar (which I do all the time but I was out and unsure if it would be needed) which I got from THM mama http://www.gwensnest.com
I mixed up some Truvia (it tends to be a lil’ sweeter than straight up xylitol and I wanted my TS son to really enjoy these)
Used a coffee grinder to powder some sugar (needed for frosting), simply ground xylitol 🙂
Made some homemade peanut butter (easiest thing in the world to do!! Vitamix + 3 cups raw peanuts + 5 minutes = natural peanut butter)
I slightly adjusted the “candy bar cupcake” recipe from http://www.chocolatecoveredkatie.com AND I changed up her peanut butter frosting recipe to suit our needs 😉
I slightly adjusted the “chocolate ganache” recipe from thishouseofjoy.com for the filling
NOW, to get down to the nitty-gritty of putting it all together! This is how it all went down…
Reese GF

It was 10:00 PM when lightening struck, er uh…when the perfection was completed!!
This is the recipe I managed to piece together because honey hush, believe you me, I WILL be duplicating this over and over and over and over…oh did I say, I WILL? Because I meant to say I WILL!!
FOR THE CUPCAKE:
1 cup GF flour (brand of choice)
1/4 cup defatted peanut flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup truvia (sweetener of choice)
1/2 cup DF yogurt (or greek yogurt if you’re NOT dairy free)
1/4 cup + 3 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce (which I made prior)
1 1/2 tsp vanilla (which I made prior)
1/2 cup almond milk (which I made prior) OR milk of choice
MIX ALL DRY INGREDIENTS, MIX ALL WET, THEN MIX ALL TOGETHER

FOR THE CENTER/FILLING:
1/4 cup raw cocoa
1/8 cup raw honey
Approx 2 Tbsp water
*Don’t get it runny, you want a smooth, thick consistency

USE LINERS IN YOUR CUPCAKE PAN (makes one dozen)
Pour cake mix into well, then add a dollop of filling just in the center (I had lil’ cake mix left so I covered the chocolate center for good measure)

Bake 350 for approximately 20-25 minutes

FROSTING:
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup + 3 Tbsp powdered sugar
1/4 cup milk of choice
*I wound up adding an add’l 2 Tbsp water due to consistency
Place frosting in a piping bag (or I used a ziploc and cut corner off)
Frost cupcakes once they completely cool, top w/ chopped reese cup pieces

I ain’t gonna lie, it was a LOT of work but it was soooooo worth it! And just let me tell ya, the family ❤ as well as neighbors and friends alike–NOOOOBODY knows these are "good for you" cupcakes…well, maybe I should say "better for you" 😉

I purchase a LOT of my specialty, gluten-free items from Vitacost.com. IF you’ve never purchased from them before, you can use the following personal invite link to get a coupon for $10 off your first $30 purchase http://goo.gl/HQUgd0 (I’m not sure but if you have to enter my email as a referral use chellemills@ymail.com because I will get $10 off my next $30 purchase as well)

Now, you can go enjoy your cupcake…I AM 😀

Leave a Reply

