hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Metabolism…do YOU have one?

on November 7, 2013

Today’s class, students, will be on METABOLISM 😀
There are REASONS to WHY we should eat every 2.5-3 hours…do you know what any of them are?  Well, you’re about learn a couple of them if you don’t already know! 🙂

We eat often to KEEP METABOLISM going! Think of your metabolism as a firepit. When you’re trying to get that fire started, it ain’t easy! You add some wood, a lot of paper & sometimes igniter fluid (haha).  However, once you get it burning, it’s much easier to keep it burning than to let it go out and have to restart it.  Same thing w/ metabolism.  Best way to get it going is to FEED IT!  Eating w/n an hour of waking every morning will increase your metabolism by 30% for the day.  Keep feeding it periodically throughout the day (every 2.5-3 hours, NEVER going longer than 4) to keep it rev’n! If you DON’T, you’ll have to start all over.

When your metabolism slows, you’re NOT burning fat, you start feeling sluggish, you get hungry then you’ll over eat or indulge in the wrong thing.  Well…shoot, I just gave you some of the other reasons HaHa  IF, you’re not staying on track w/ consciously eating every few hours, you WILL get hungry. We don’t want to get “hungry”! Actual hunger tends to make us grumpy and causes us to choose the wrong things to eat.  PREPARATION is a key to NOT allowing this to happen.  Always have something handy just in case you find yourself off-track for the day (away from home or office where your food drawer is); I always have Oh-Yeah bars for just that reason!  I do not eat these every day (though I could they’re so yummy) but they’re portable, so easy to leave in the car or carry in my purse for “just in case”.  (These are considered an “E” meal for the THM plan and w/n protein/carb limits for AdvoCare.  There are two flavors, the counts are not much different w/ varying flavor) .  I also have a tub of raw almonds under my car seat AND one at home…b/c sometimes I just need something I can grab quick (or the ballgame lasted longer than my snack bag in which case I grab that tub out of the car..great great emergency snack!  These would be considered an “S” for the THM plan and 1/2 cup serving is a perfect Advo approved idea)

Can you tell the difference between real hunger and just dehydration?  Best way to do that is IF you find yourself “hungry” (which remember, we’re trying to avoid) DRINK 8 OZ OF WATER!  If after you drink it, you’re still hungry, then eat something silly HaHa  You can pre-fix your snacks/meals for the day no matter where you are planning to be!  I pack my husband a cooler bag to take to work.  I pack my kids one for school.  I pack one for myself when I know I’m going to be away from the house and I’ve got things in mind for when I’ll stay at home.  I pack one that includes something for everyone on “game days”.  Having things handy makes it so much easier to stay on track.  **side bar**  I will tell you that IF you’re sticking to your 90-120 oz water consumption each day, you will not run into a dehydration problem therefore avoiding an issue to knowing the differnce between that & hunger…jus’say’n 😉

YES, this means that you should eat even when you are not hungry.  “WHAT?  Say it isn’t so!  I HAVE to eat even though I’m NOT hungry?”  I ain’t gonna lie, this was a hard concept for me to grasp!  We eat to AVOID getting hungry!  We eat to KEEP our metabolism revving!  We eat to train our bodies to know the difference between real hunger and boredom eating!

Now, I’ll tell you what I was doing in the beginning of my health journey to boost my metabolism because I whole-heartedly believe my weight issues were due to the fact that my metabolism had completely bottomed out!  AdvoCare Thermoplus!  I attribute my weight loss success to this one product above all others but I do not believe it would’ve worked as well if I had not be taking the MNS-3 in conjunction!  What is Thermoplus?  Well, for me personally, it was m-a-g-i-c 🙂

ThermoPlus™ supplement is an innovative weight-loss enhancer that contains key botanical extracts to help support efficient metabolism and suppress appetite.*   Together, they provide powerful support for stimulating fat oxidation and healthy metabolism when used in conjunction with a healthy diet and exercise.*   Use it with a Metabolic Nutrition System (MNS®) for enhanced results.*

  • Supports the body’s ability to convert fat into energy*
  • Promotes a healthy metabolism*
  • Helps suppress appetite*
  • Contains oolong tea and sage extracts to support weight loss*
  • Works great in conjunction with the AdvoCare® Metabolic Nutrition Systems (MNS®)*

Check out this link for further information on AdvoCare Thermoplus: https://www.advocare.com/Microsite/Images/Store/Labels/T4101.pdf

Here are some other handy/portable, helpful snack ideas:  low-fat string cheese, air-popped popcorn, cut up fruit, apple w/ natural nut butter(s), hummus w/ celery, carrot sticks (raw veggie of choice), tuna (packs), individual yogurt cups (try sticking to greek yogurt, higher protein, lower sugar), raw or roasted nuts, pre-cooked meats, boiled eggs (de-shell before packing), portioned Muscle Gain shake OR whey protein shake (just add to water), cucumber & tomatoes drizzled in o/v, rice cakes w/ natural nut butter(s), sugar-free cookies (www.sugarfreemom.com is a great source); THM has some great make-ahead, packable snacks I’ve used like fruity blend, chia tapioca pudding, choco pudding (Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/me10star/thm/ is another great source)

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

One response to “Metabolism…do YOU have one?

  1. chellemills says:

    For whatever reason, I was UNABLE to add the tags to this post. SORRY 😦

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

