hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Day 1 / AdvoCare 10 Day Herbal Cleanse w/ THM

on October 21, 2013

ecard Day 1 of AdvoCare 10 Day Herbal Cleanse….let the detoxification process begin (now if you’ve ever seen The Santa Claus you’re hearing the elf saying his part right now)

Following the THM (Trim Healthy Mama) plan, I’m finding it a lil’ more challenging while simultaneously doing ADVO 10 day Herbal Cleanse. The no sugar aspect is a simple “no brainer”. However, the no dairy part is going to be a rather daunting task! HaHa~

I firmly believe the no dairy aspect to be beneficial during the cleanse phase…it makes sense that we would need to stay away from dairy products as dairy tends to “coat” our intestines and our cleanse is “scrubbing” the insides of said intestines (basically fighting a losing battle)

Biggest things to remember when starting your challenge…PREPARATION is key!! J It will benefit the process if you take the time beforehand to figure out what your meal plans will be, pre-pack your snacks, never get caught empty-handed and always have plenty of water on hand/nearby! You should eliminate or try to avoid ALL dairy products ((you can replace your milk w/ soy (**if you have or breast cancer runs in your family, I would not be willing to take the risk of adding much soy), any nut milk (I make my own almond milk) or coconut milk)). Avoid ALL ADDED SUGAR! WATCH sugar counts in anything you’re not making yourself. You will need to eat every 3-4 hours (NEVER going longer than 4 hours between meals). You should consume AT LEAST 10g of protein and NO MORE than 30g carbs at each meal. You will need to eat within an hour of waking (this will increase your metabolism by 30% for the day). Be sure to drink PLENTY OF WATER after finishing your fiber drink as this will get things “moving” J As a matter of fact you need to have between 90-120 oz daily (rule of thumb is to have at least half your body weight in ounces)

Follow me the next 10 days to get an idea of how to have a successful cleanse phase of your own.

Waking up this morning the first thing I did was weigh in (161.6 which means I’m up 3 lbs from my lowest) and take measurements (ESPECIALLY if this is your FIRST cleanse you’ll want to be sure and measure, you’ll be amazed at the end w/ results of inches regardless of if you lose pounds).
Step #1: SPARK (scoop/8 oz) w/ 3 Catalyst
Step #2: FIBER (pkt/8 oz)
** NOW…I have discovered it is so much easier to combine steps 1 & 2. I use 16 oz of water and mix the Mandarin Orange Spark w/ my Fiber packet and voila, it goes down much smoother and it doesn’t thicken so quickly therefore I actually enjoy it rather than dread & gag w/ each swallow J
Step #3: Follow fiber drink w/ lots of WATER to get things “moving”. I consumed 22 oz w/n the next 30 mins.
Step #4: EAT I had Almond Butter Pancakes/S from Detoxinista http://detoxinista.com/2012/09/almond-butter-pancakes-grain-free/ w/ 2 Tbsp of sugar-free syrup and one HUGE strawberry (the others were rotten sniff sniff)
Step #5 SPEND 20 MINUTES sometime throughout the day doing (your choice) of any kind of exercise. Mine was spent in the floor of my house doing push-ups, crunches, oblique crunches, bicycles, butt lifts and leg lifts. The idea is to just get moving!
Step #6: SNACK (3 hours after breakfast): 3 oz of tuna w/ 1/3 boiled/diced egg, ½ tsp light mayo (so not so dry; would’ve used avocado instead if I had it) and approx. 6 large grapes (w/ THM you don’t want to have too many grapes as they are higher in “sugar”)
Step #7: DRINK PLENTY OF WATER!!! (total thus far Day 1 = 100 oz)
Step #8: LUNCH (3 hours after snack): Thanks to my handy dandy Vitamix I opted for a fresh chicken/veggie soup. Handful of carrots, spinach and few grape tomatoes, 3 cups of water, onion & salt free seasoning. After those veggies have liquefied I add in some rotissere chicken & pulse!
Step #9: SNACK (3 hours after lunch): AdvoCare Muscle Gain Shake. 1 scoop w/ 6 oz of water & tsp of almond butter
Step #10: DINNER (3 hours after 2nd snack): This has to be a meal the entire family will enjoy! Tonight it just happened to be Chick-Fila as we found ourselves out past feeding time. I had a 180 calorie Grilled Market Salad which came w/ chicken, strawberries, blueberries & apple pieces (I remove the bleu cheese ICK) and I used approx 1 ½ Tbsp of fat free honey mustard

** I don’t always have a second Spark throughout the day but between 2nd snack & dinner I found myself wanting “something” so I mixed up a Spark & took 3 catalyst. Catalyst does a great job of curbing that crave for something sweet as does my Spark, it was an afternoon treat to say the least. Those togeter helped tide me over til dinner (which was pushing four hours).

NOW, I’m not one who believes in deprivation! I believe that will cause you to eventually over-induldge and lose the battle! IF you feel you’re going to die if you don’t have the crunch of a cracker…well, shoot fire have yourself 2 crackers. JUST DON’T HAVE A PACK! If you find yourself hungry and it’s not time to eat 1st drink some water to see if it is truly HUNGER & not dehydration or just wanting something out of boredom. IF you find you’re really hungry (this is where THM will be put to good use) try yourself The Shrinker Tea http://www.pinterest.com/pin/14777505000963228/ It’s helpful in curbing appetite and giving that “hand to mouth” that we are so used to doing w/ junk b/c we’re b-o-r-e-d! I’m about to go make myself a batch NOW so I’ll have it for tomorrow J

DAY ONE DONE!! Completed w/out a hitch…but the night is still young heehee

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

2 responses to “Day 1 / AdvoCare 10 Day Herbal Cleanse w/ THM

  1. Trish says:

    Can you use red wine vinegar on the first 10 days?

    • chellemills says:

      Trish, well, I don’t see why not!! Aside from the fact that it adds a great flavor to salads w/ a splash of olive oil abd it’s awesome for cooking dishes as well, not to mention there’s medicinal purposes (antioxidant, flavanoids, resveratrol). AND it’s low cal, no fats (BooYah bonus) with several vitamins and minerals to boot (for example, a tablespoon of red wine vinegar contains tiny amounts of iron, a mineral that helps your body make red blood cells and helps to prevent anemia, and it contains trace amounts of potassium and vitamin C, as well). One more thing I found out….it has acetic acid which can reduce ghrelin levels which help to control cravings and reduce the buildup of fat within the body.

      I say USE AWAY!

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

