hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Q&A

on July 26, 2013

Recently I’ve been asked some questions repeatedly which leads me to believe there are still some uncertainties about what to take, how much and when during the 24 DC &/or Herbal Cleanse…

fruit carb

When, how many & how often do I take Catalyst?  A:  Catalyst helps to repair and protect muscle, and thereby promote lean body mass by providing the essential amino acids that are in short supply.  A serving is 3 capsules.  Should be taken between meals OR 10-15 prior to exercise.  I personally take 3 w/ my Spark, 30 mins before breakfast (I believe IF you workout, it works BEST to consume 15-30 mins beforehand).  It helps rid the fat & retain the muscle leaving your body more toned (Pssst…it’s good for cellulite).  IF I have a 2nd Spark in the afternoon I will take 3 more Catalyst OR if I’ve got a  bad sweet tooth in the evenings, I’ll take 3 more then seems to help curb the craving.  There is really no limit to how many you can take in a given day (but due to cost, I never take more than 9, but always at least 3)

What IS Catalyst?  A:  An amino acid supplement.   A blend of essential branched-chain amino acids and L-glutamine that supplies your
body with muscle-building components and sustains your muscles during exercise and reduced calorie intake.  The key ingredients are branched-chain amino acids (BCAA), L-glutamine, L-arginine, betaine, taurine.

Why can I not take thermogenics or thermoplus during the cleanse phase?  A:  Do not take thermogenics (MNS® color packets, ThermoPlus™ and AdvoCare Slim®) when using Herbal Cleanse.  All other AdvoCare products may be continued but should be taken several hours after consuming Fiber Drink.  I have SEARCHED & SEARCHED as to WHY we shouldn’t take the thermogenics during cleanse and the ONLY answer I can come up is it hinders the cleansing process therefore hinders our progress & reaching our goals.  I know right, HUH not much of an answer?!

How often do I take the Thermoplus?  A:  You can take 1-3 Thermoplus capsules a day.  You can take them in ANY way that works best for your schedule.  I started off taking 3 in the mornings, 30 mins before breakfast and w/in a couple of hours I felt like I needed to lay down..it just made my head feel really weird!  Once I dropped down to two it worked wonders (I’ve always attributed my maintained loss specifically to Thermoplus).  After I started taking a Zumba class…I decided to really test the “energy” aspect of it and started to consume 2 – 30 mins before class and let me tell you what VA-VA-VOOM the energy level was booming and I didn’t want it to end!  I have friends who can take 2 before breakfast and a 3rd before lunch but I’ve never been able to take more than 2 in one day.  You just have to figure out what works best for you!

Can I use Truvia?  A:  Yes, you use sugar replacements during your cleanse.  I don’t recommend something like Splenda but you can use Truvia or Stevia.

I have IBS, can I still do the 10 day cleanse? A: I by no means claim to be a medical professional so the best thing for you to do would be print off the information sheet on the cleanse and show it to your doctor saying, “I am planning to do this cleanse would you give me your opinion?” Saying it in this manner will cause them to actually READ IT as a lot haven’t heard of AdvoCare. I HAD IBS (the kind that kept me from having BMs, not the kind that caused me to go), with IBS doctor’s usually want you to find a good fiber. The fiber drink IN MY OPINION is a fantastic option! I’ve read several testimonies of people w/ the same experience as mine 😉

When should I take the herbal cleanse pill pack?  A:  Take your herbal cleanse pill pack directly before bed.  I use the word “directly” W/ EMPHASIS! Like have them on your nightstand w/ a bottle of water and take when you’re ready to sleep and not anything else you might do in bed HeeHee. Personally, if I take them as early as 30 mins before bed I start to feel “funny”; can’t describe funny but my head just feels weird (but then again, I have meneires which could be a factor).  It is my theory because magnesium helps you sleep that due to the fact there is some magnesium in the pills that it could make you “tired” if taken too early.

What If I forget to take the herbal cleanse pill pack one night?  A:  NO WORRIES, you’ll just have an extra night at the end of that phase to take a pack…night 8 you will make up for missing that pack.  Same goes if you forget to take a probiotic pack, just take it at the end.  DO NOT EVER DOUBLE UP ON EITHER.  It’s always beneficial to use the “guide” on the insert that comes w/ the Herbal Cleanse.  If I don’t MARK the box each time I take one of the correct steps, I WILL GET CONFUSED!

Why should I not drink coffee?  A:  Most people don’t drink coffee black, they add CREAM & SUGAR which are no-no during cleanse.  It is acidic. It increases cortisol levels in the body which contribute to storing belly fat..uh aren’t we trying to get rid of that?!  Besides you cleanse removes TOXINS that the coffee is putting back in this will SLOW your progress.  I promise your Spark will replace your caffeine addiction coffee in no time!

Why should I not have dairy during cleanse?  A:  Our cleanse is “scrubbing” the insides of your intestines (colon, kidneys & liver), dairy will “coat” your intestines…kinda defeats the purpose huh?!  Try almond milk or coconut milk instead; I used to prefer soy until I started studying & discovered that soy causes cells which can lead to breast cancer (there’s some contraversy over that topic).

How much of what should I be eating?  A:  Well during the cleanse you will help the process by eating a lot of fruits.  Basically you can have unlimited fruit (except for bananas), which will also help w/ your energy level but you still need to keep up w/ your protein/carb ratio (having at least 10g of protein w/ each meal and less than 30g COMPLEX carbs w/ each).

What is a good/complex Carb?  A:  There are two types of carbohydrates: simple and complex. Fruits and vegetables are complex carbohydrates which supply nutrients, such as vitamins and minerals, as well as carbohydrates and protein to your body.  Complex are the GOOD ones!  Fruits contain sugar, a simple carbohydrate, and dietary fiber, a complex carbohydrate. Complex carbohydrates take longer for your body to digest than simple carbohydrates, and they have a gentler effect on blood sugar levels.  Fruits with more complex carbohydrates and less sugar typically have fewer calories.  Other complex carbohydrates would be spinach, yams, broccoli, beans, zucchini, lentils, skimmed milk, whole grains and many other leguminous plants and vegetables.

Why am I having a headache on day 3 or day 5 of cleanse?  A:  You are detoxing!  Your body is ridding all that yucky built-up garbage from your system and you are bound to feel it.  But know that this too shall pass, just drink lots and lots and lots, oh did I say lots?  OF WATER.  It’s like when you get a massage, that massage is releasing built up toxins and the therapist (if it’s a good one) should offer you a bottle of water and tell you to hydrate to FLUSH THOSE LOOSE TOXINS OUT!  Plus IF you’re NOT drinking enough water while detoxing you will dehydrate which will cause headaches.

How much Spark can I drink?  A:  Well how much Spark do you need?  MOST people only need one in the morning but there are many who need two.  I don’t NEED to but I generally have a 2nd mid-afternoon simply because I like the tasty treat!  A serving is 8 oz per level scoop of your favorite flavor.  I find that a lil’ strong to I go for 10 oz of water w/ a “rounded” scoop.  Each scoop has 120 mg of caffeine which is approximately the same as a cup of coffee.  You COULD have 5 a day but I WOULDN’T RECOMMEND IT; I wouldn’t have more than three per day and that’s only in dire situations (late night; travelling; vacation; sick kids not sleeping).

How much water should I drink? A:  You need to drink 90-120 oz of water every day.  Realistically that’s HALF your weight in ounces!  You CAN include your Spark in that 🙂

I have a low tolerance to caffeine, what do I do?  A:  I have never tolerated caffeine well due to my meneires disease BUT there’s hope.  (#1 there’s a CAFFEINE FREE option which is called V-16)  The best way I know to explain is this way…caffeine “attaches” itself to whatever ingredients/chemicals that are in the product you’re consuming.  EX…you drink a Coke, the caffeine attaches itself to the sugar and all the “bad” stuff and goes straight to your blood stream.  Once the caffeine wears off you’re left w/ the effects of the yuck you consumed.  You drink a spark, the caffeine is attached to the amino acids, vitamins and minerals…ALL THAT GOOD GOING STRAIGHT TO YOUR BLOODSTREAM…leaving a lasting effect of happy, healthy, energy, focus…you get the picture?  The caffeine in the Spark has never, ever bothered me negatively.

How late can I have Spark; will it keep me awake?  A:  When my clients ask this at a mixer say, “Probably.  You have a mate right?  Ya’ll can stay up late together!” or “Just think of all the stuff you’ll get done.” HaHa  Personally, I’ve had a spark as late as 7 pm and it has NEVER affected my sleep.  But everybody is different.  You have to “try it” and see what works best for you, tweak accordingly.

Whats the difference between using olive oil & coconut oil?  A:  Speaking nutritionally BOTH contain 120 calories & 14g of fat per Tbl BUT coconut oil contains more saturated fats, these fats should be limited especially when there’s family history of heart disease.  Coconut oil is  a GREAT replacement for butter in baking but I would opt for olive oil w/ everyday cooking in place of ANY other oil.  IF I’m baking I use coconut oil in place of butter and vegetable oils, now I ain’t gonna lie there will be a hint of coconut flavor to everything you make but luckily we all like that 🙂

Where can I find AdvoCare product information?  A:  Go to www.chellespark.com for complete product information.  Go to the product that you are interested in, and click “Product Page” under the picture.  You will have a 3-4 page pdf with complete info on each product.  This is where you will find ingredients, directions, uses, benefits, etc.  If you ever have a question that you cannot find answers to please feel free to contact me.

What do I do after my 24 day challenge is over?  A:  Personally I believe it depends on what your results have been verses what your goals are/were.  If you need to lose more, just keep continuing with the same regimen as your last 12 days and add Thermoplus (if you weren’t already taking it) and take when you take your Catalyst  (twice a day on an empty stomach).  If you are continuing to lose okay, you can add fruit to your MR shake in the morning.  Feel free to use an Advo Meal Bar for lunch when you can’t get the proper lunch due to time contraints. Every 90 days, you can repeat the cleanse. If you are trying to maintain your loss, but still losing, you can add in some foods to keep you consistent, such as a high fiber carbohydrate at dinner (if you haven’t already been) or adding a snack in the evening.  A good snack would consist of adding Muscle Gain shakes or an Advo Snack Bar (of course almonds are always a great choice and my “go to”).  Be sure to continue the supplements and MR shakes. Be sure you are exercising.

What kind of exercise to you recommend for beginners?  A:  Do some form of cardio at least 3-5 times per week, and strength training 2 -3 times per week.  AdvoCare has a great work out series DVD (which I happen to have two for sale at a discounted price!  I was planning to use these are Spark Mixer incentives but then I found some smaller gift ideas to carry w/ me) “Can you 24?”.  Or you can check out the workout schedule/plan offered w/ the Lean in 13 on choosethechallenge.com.  Walking is a fabulous way to get yourself moving~

Once I get more knowledge from my studies, I’ll add to these questions AND if I get more questions I’ll revise post.  Please feel free to ask me anything or respond to my opinions…i’m a big girl (NOT as big as I used to be), I can take it 🙂

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

6 responses to “Q&A

  1. Megan says:

    Any chance your throat has hurt after all the pills? I’ve been noticing this happening over the last 30 days or so (the left side of my throat). I’ve been doing advocare for almost 3 months now. 🙂 Thanks!

    • chellemills says:

      Megan, I had horrible, horrible “heartburn” when I was “heavy” but rather than feeling it in my chest, it hurt in my throat. That subsided as I started getting healthy (& losing weight). Could it be that the pain in your throat is heartburn? My mother, all her life, has taken her vitamins WITH her meal (literally, a pill in w/ her bite). Doin Advocare she had to start taking vitamins/mns 30 minutes before eating which she says is very difficult for her. She says it’s hard to swallow the amount of pills, the size of the pills and not taking them W/ food is causing her heartburn and she can “taste” them. I will suggest to you what I did to her…”try taking your pills just 15 mins before eating & use be sure you’re getting enough water &/or Spark”. However, I am not a doctor and if you find this issue continues you should contact your physician. Let me know how it goes 🙂

  2. Hanna says:

    Hey! I was reading all your tips (which are awesome by the way). I am on day 3 and I forgot to take my Fiber packet :(…took the pills but totally spaced the fiber…What should I do? Maybe take it before bed?

    • chellemills says:

      OH BOY…4 days late I see…so sorry, I’ve been way to slack lately :/ (actually i have been working on becoming compliant which has kept me busy from actually bloggin at all!).. I hope that you DID drink the fiber. It works best (in my opinion) on an empty stomach so drinking it that night would’ve been a great idea as long as it had been 2 hours since your last meal (so I hope you followed your instincts and did it) (y) Thank you for the question Hanna, again I’m super sorry for the huge delay in responding

  3. vandyfan10 says:

    Question…I see you said you can use a sweetener like stevia or truvia. But you said “I don’t recommend something like Splenda but you can use Truvia or Stevia.” Splenda is what’s used in Spark. Are they going to change the ingredients and remove the artificial sweetener? I have MS and specifically been told not to use artificial sweeteners. But I SO love Spark & miss it like crazy!!! Thanks for any info 🙂

    • chellemills says:

      Hey vandyfan. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE for Advo to switch from using sucralose as their sweetener to stevia but I haven’t heard they’ve come around to that :/ I do NOT recommend using artificial sweeteners but I DO make that concession when it comes to my Spark (however, I do not drink as much of it as I once did). Stevia is considered a natural sweetener but I rarely use it and the truvia I refer to is the homemade truvia that I make (not the store bought kind which some actually have sugar in it!!) Personally I mainly stick to sweeteners such as honey, pure maple syrup, unsweetened applesauce and bananas. Lifestyle changes are about making the better choice and you have to choose what works best for you and your family. (My sister has MS and I tell her all the time to get OFF the sugar, it’s only increasing your pain!) Have you ever tried EnerG boost! It’s pretty good! I purchased a box from Vitacost and I have to say it makes me feel as good as Spark does and sorta “carbonated”, it just doesn’t have the yummy flavor of the Spark. It’s definitely worth a try, you should look it up 😉 Let me know if I can further help you ❤

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

