hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Life is a highway

on July 23, 2013

Life is a highway…
Sometimes you wind up getting where you’re going still looking pristine and pressed…because you rode with the A/C on
But sometimes you throw caution to the wind, living on the wild side and ride with the windows down… It’s fun, it feels good but ya look like crap when the car stops and people wonder if you even own a mirror OR a brush

Staying on track with your eating while on vacation is like riding that very same highway!!
Taking two days at the beach with my eldest baby girl was a piece of cake.  She helps me ” keep the windows up”, she likes healthy snacks on the beach all day with a cooler of water and she likes to share meals.  She forces me to exercise by running to breakfast which means running back after. But then she also allows a splurge…like instead of getting Ben & Jerry’s ice cream waffle cone we got Olive Garden cheesecake, so see she’s not totally strict all the time.
But then I take a couple days with honey and the lil’ kids and that’s when the windows come down!!  He’s a firm believer in vacation being VACATION… Throwing all caution to the wind. He thinks your health should take the back seat, eat all the crap we don’t allow in the house and just live it up!!  Then there’s dumb me who jumps on the run away train and loves Mr Toads wild ride…til day three when the brush ain’t no where to be found

Breakfast is easy I love breakfast, eggs are my go to when out and about, they’re most always safe.  I’ll even have a lil’ bacon and slice of whole wheat toast…snacking wasn’t really an issue, tho there were some nutri-grain bars involved.  But lunch or the lack there of was a BIG issue..it meant more snacks!!! Which in turn meant I was starved by the time we got to dinner and buffets are a killer on any healthy eating plan…you gotta get your money’s worth!

Y’all I didn’t even bother to get IN the car much less roll the window down and the brush??  Didn’t even pack one!!!

And here it is..confession time..you’d think I own a convertible for all the blowing IT that was going on.. Both nights I endulged in DQ peanut butter shakes…worst part? They were NOT even worth the calories!! Or the bloating!! Or the misery of guilt that went along with it OR THE FIVE POUNDS I BROUGHT HOME-

BUT..do you see the light at the end of the tunnel?  That my friends is called Advocare.

Now I ain’t gonna lie.. I was freaking out a lil over living on the wild side but I coulda said NO..woulda been hard but I’ve said it many times before..BUT bc I have an Advocare plan I know that in no time i’ll be back on the straight and narrow..plus it’s cleanse time whoop whoop! Call me crazy some have but I look forward to the cleanse phase bc I’m gonna D-E-T-O-X that wind right outta my hair (haha if you could hear the tune in my head you’d lol too..remember that 70’s commercial I’m gonna wash that gray right out my hair).  With all the rain we’ve had in NC there’s no chance of riding this highway with the wind blown look.

Luckily my honey has decided that he too should probly complete a cleanse as well which will motivate ME 🙂

I have learned thru trial and error that the best way to consume the fiber drink is by mixing my scoop of spark/8oz water WITH my fiber packet/8oz water.. I mix the mandarin orange or mango strawberry with citrus fiber but wouldn’t recommend any other flavors..they don’t “mesh” well.  Fiber was followed by 16 oz water…I want that stuff MOVING (as of right now it’s only moving in the form of fumes haha Every step I take its like stepping on frogs lol doesn’t usually effect me that way)

Generally during a cleanse I don’t do the MR shakes but bc I have some that a client exchanged we had shakes (1 packet/8oz water) with chia seeds.
Snack was small apple with 1/2 c almonds
Lunch was a mixed greens salad with diced cucumber, sliced tomato, grilled chicken and oil/vinegar dressing.
Snack was supposed to be 5 oz tuna with lil chopped celery and a kiwi but still hadn’t made it back home and only packed an “Oh Yeah” bar.
Dinner turned out to be rotissere chicken, asaparagus and carrots (w/ 4 OmegaPlex)

I try to keep things simple during cleanse phase bc I want my honey to feel like “I can do this on my own” just in case there’s ever a time I’m not able to prepare FOR him. BUT after the first few days I’ll start throwing some different dishes at him heehee

I always have (3) catalyst in the morning w/ my Spark (during cleanse phase that is with my spark/fiber drink)  CATALYST:  Helps maintain muscle mass during exercise & weight management.  Aids in preserving muscle and energy levels during times of calorie restriction.  Helps repair & protect muscle tissue.  Helps tighten elasticity in skin (cellulite). Gives lil’ extra energy.  I do not ALWAYS have a 2nd Spark during the day but sometimes I just want a lil’ pick-me-up OR just a tasty treat other than water and I always throw in a 2nd dose of Catalyst (3) for good measure.

Soooo…here’s to DAY 1 successfully complete~

THE BEST ADVICE I CAN OFFER IF YOU’RE JUST GETTING STARTED:  BE PREPARED!  ALWAYS CARRY A “SNACK BAG” & WATERS WHEN LEAVING THE HOUSE.  TRY TO PLAN  YOUR MEALS EARLY AND ALLOW FOR LAST MINUTE CHANGES (I know myself A LOT of times I know what I’m fixing for dinner tomorrow night but then by lunch time I really don’t have a taste for “that” so I have to have other things on hand to replace it with).  DRINK DRINK DRINK YOUR WATER!  LAST BUT CERTAINLY NOT LEAST…THROW AWAY THE SCALES!  DO NOT WEIGH YOURSELF EXCEPT DAYS 11 & 25 (Our moods will change as our weight changes!  If weight is down woohoo it’s party time, we’re happy…however, if weight is up, we get down & discouraged and have a more difficult time pushing ahead.  Save yourself the ups & downs and just go by how you FEEL)

My “plan” for tomorrow (tentative):  Start the day w/ almond butter pancakes, no syrup but a small dollop of homemade sugar-free jelly.  Snacks will include boiled egg, fruits and nuts/seeds.  Lunch is looking like a spinach salad w/ 5 oz of tuna and possibly strawberries.  Dinner will probably be turkey meatload w/ steamed broccoli and small potato…I ain’t gonna lie, it’s always subject to change~

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of  Essential Oils and when purchasing I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

