hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Sodium: good or bad; actually it’s BOTH

on June 12, 2013

Tomorrow, I’ll start tomorrow….WHY WAIT until tomorrow to start paying attention to good healthy habits?  Let’s start NOW~

This morning started as usual w/ my favorite part of the day…SPARK/CATALYST/MNS There was a half grapefruit and 15 grain bread w/ 2 tbsp of almond butter involved (MNS).  I recall an O’Yeah protein bar (these are at Costco and they’re YUM-O).  (MNS) Lunch included a tuna wrap (whole wheat flat-out w/ 5 oz tuna & mixed lettuce…generally I’d add cucumbers & tomato but theose have disappeared).  Then I had popcorn which would have been a descent choice IF it had been W/O salt.  I’m sensing a 2nd Spark in my future w/ a 2nd dose of Catalyst.  Dinner IS GOING TO BE SALAD w/ grilled chicken & a light drizzle of oil/vinegar dressing.

Listen, I know salt/sodium gets a bad wrap…it’s NOT good for you in that it will cause you to retain fluids and causes issue w/ your blood pressure!  However, IF you have low-bp like I do sodium can actually be a good thing.  When I get really hot really fast I can feel my blood pressure BOTTOM OUT and it happens rather quickly.  I have learned that before going into a zumba class if I have something “salty” it helps me to maintain a healthy bp.  (Usually a handful of roasted almonds or 1/2 protein bar).  It would be a good idea for us all to keep Advocare Rehydrate on hand (it’s like a “healthy” gatorade) for when your body becomes depleted of all those electrolytes due to strenuous exercise/workouts!

Sodium is a mineral that helps you maintain normal fluid balance. Many foods contain sodium, especially processed food which we should ALL stay away from anyway. The recommended daily intake of sodium is 2,300 mg per day for ages 2 years and older, and less than 1,500 mg per day for people over 50 years of age, or those with high blood pressure. Consuming too much sodium can increase your risk for high blood pressure and stroke. Reducing sodium in your diet can help you to lower your blood pressure and risk for cardiovascular disease and mortality. Eating too much sodium/salt can cause  the tiny blood vessels throughout your body, to leak fluid. A low-sodium diet can be life-threatening for endurance athletes or people on exercise programs. Your body loses water and salts during extended physical activity. Hyponatremia is a potentially fatal condition of low blood sodium levels that can occur during or after exercise, especially after significant fluid intake (which I have a LOT of).  Learn to pay attention to what your body is telling you!  I’ve had to learn the “signs” of when enough is enough in order to keep from picking myself up off the floor 😉

Remember, I’m here to help you succeed on your health journey~  I’m starting nutrition classes in the fall just FOR YOU 🙂  If I can help you in any way, answer any questions or get you started please feel free to contact me thru www.hotsparkmama.wordpress.com OR www.chellespark.com

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

