hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

I get knocked down..but I get up again

on June 8, 2013

Ya’ll remember that 90’s tune?  Don’t know where that came from this morning but it’s running thru my head.. I get knocked down, but I get up again, you’re never gonna keep my down (BUT thats the only part of it I remember so it’s just those 3 short phrases OVER & OVER & OVER) haha 😀

OH HAPPY DAYYYYY… I don’t usually throw all the numbers out there but today is 158.2!  That my friends would be my lowest low in THIRTEEN YEARS!!  Who’s ready for the party bus now?  WhoooooHooooo ME ME ME

For most of us, comfort foods do provide a measure of emotional relief.  That’s natural and normal; it’s why we have a fondness for the foods our mothers made. But it’s important to realize that the effect is only momentary. If you overindulge, you run the risk of twisting those good feelings into guilt (TRUST ME, I SPEAK FROM EXPERIENCE).  A little advance planning can help prevent deep dives into despair. When you’re feeling good about life, make a list of your favorite things, whatever makes you feel special (no food allowed). Fresh flowers? Facials? Hot tubs? Keep your list in a handy place and check it when you’re feeling down or discouraged. Try using something from that list rather than looking for Ben & Jerry to pick you up.  If only chocolate will do look on Pinterest for a “healthy” recipe.

Skinny Monkey Cookies:  Yields 30

•3 bananas

•2 cups old-fashioned oats

•1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

•1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

•1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

•1 tsp. vanilla extract

•Dash of cinnamon (optional)

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Mash bananas in a large bowl, then stir in remaining ingredients. Let batter stand for approximately 20 minutes, then drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. Sprinkle with cinnamon if desired. Bake 10-12 minutes.

**Freezing Directions (b/c you DO NOT want to eat all 30):  Cool completely, then place cookies in a freezer bag. Seal, label, and freeze.

** 47 calories; 7.5 g carbs; 1.6 g fat; 1.5 g protein; 1.3 g fiber

Since I haven’t been following a “plan” I seem to be having the same breakfast everyday (which is great b/c I LOVE IT)… half grapefruit & 15 grain toast w/ tbsp almond butter

The grapefruit has recently become an acquired taste (I started it when looking to “detox”).  Its high in Vit C to enhance immunity, is a good source of potassium & bioflavonoids and it contain compounds that help to inhibit cancer development.  Eaten 1st thing in the morning it can kick start the digestive system (& relieve constipation FOR REAL!).

The almond butter IS a great alternative to peanut butter (which if not using the REAL, NATURAL kind still has sugar) and it’s extremely EASY to make w/ high powered blender.  Simply throw your almonds in and BLEND!  Yep, THAT EASY!  You will need to stand nearby to make sure it’s “moving” b/c it can sorta stop and need you to scrap it off the sides or shake up real good to get going again.

Due to the high, though natural sugars in fruit I generally snack on almonds XCEPT on weekends so today I’ll treat myself to a smoothie/sorbet concoction of 2 oranges (peeled but pithy), 1 pineapple (spear), lil’ unsweetened coconut w/ 4 c ice.  Huh hem..is it snack time yet?

Lunch generally tends to be either turkey or salmon patty w/ asapargus, broccoli or small salad (when I find something that “works” I go thru spells of sticking w/ it).  IF I’m eating “out” it’s always salad w/ chicken.

I’ve been splurging w/ my 2nd snack and having Cashew Clusters, praise the Lord those are gone so I’m back to ½ c nuts/seed or apple (or rice cake) w/ tbsp nut butter.

Dinner is the easiest to prepare b/c there’s so many options/recipes but generally tends to be the largest (which is WRONG as we should make lunch our biggest calorie consumption time) so I really have to watch portions.  Last night I baked salmon (drizzled olive oil, balsalmic vinegar, garlic & sprinkled Panko breadcrumbs) w/ carrot ribbons (again drizzled olive oil, sea salt & light pepper)

I get to enjoy ZuuuuuuuuuumBa Wednesday & Friday mornings but 1st thing EVERY morning I spend 10-15 mins in the floor stretching my back, 20-30 push-ups (divided), 30 sec. planks, bicycles & crunches (and IF I remember, tri-cep dips on the stairs..which I REALLY need to do b/c I’ve got the saggies going on where I used to have beautiful tri-ceps when in the gym).  Once all this rain stops I plan to get back to morning walks!

OH YEA… due to the fact that I’m about to take a week long youth trip w/ my son and all the other “younger” adults seem to think I can’t hang… I’ve started the MNS-E.  I’ve been doing the MNS-3 from day 1 for the last year (aside from cleansing times).  I wasnt crazy about it the 1st day as it just made my head feel funny.  (Before drinking Spark, I refrained from caffeine b/c it tend to stir the pot w/ my meneires disease but the caffeine in the spark does not!).  I stopped taking the Thermoplus b/c the MNS-E has Thermo P in it.  Day 2, I took my before breakfast pack REMOVING one of the Thermo P it and now I LOVE MNS-E and hate that I’ve got so much of the 3 left on hand HaHa  I am soooo ready to show those people wrong 🙂

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

