hotsparkmama

Support for health & wellness

Advocare Herbal Cleanse – Day #8

on April 22, 2013

saddle I’m baaaack in the saddle again…I’M BACK

Yep, that’s right I’m back on the fiber (just 2 more days left), I don’t mind it so much now that I’ve finally learned HOW to drink it YaHoooooo
I was excited about this (4th) cleanse because I’ve been at a plateau for the last 2-3 months. I figured this one will either jump start a lil’ more weight loss (as I’ve still got about 15 lbs to remove from my frame) or it will help me to realize that my body is just “healthy” where it is and stop fretting. I had to fight SOOOOO HARD to NOT step on the scales this morning but I WON THE BATTLE~
I did some research last night on “Lean in 13”. I kept reading other people talk about it and seriously thought they must be making it up but then BaaaaBam…go to the source right? I found it…
“This is a 13-day PROVEN program that will cause you to burn stubborn body fat and, more importantly, increase your metabolism from that point forward. This is a program AdvoCare distributors have been using to help themselves and their clients get the fastest results possible, while increasing overall health at the same time. The cost of the program is simply the cost of your supplements.” There’s a program guide, an eating plan, a product regimen and an exercise plan. Once I get a lil’ more knowledge of it I’ll be sure to share…but gotta do it quick and there’s only 2 days left on the cleanse and I need to get right into it! I love having my next step/plan in place..
I’ve also considered trying to go Paleo..but that’s a whole other story and I ain’t gonna lie, my family has to be on board and that’s gonna be a tougher nut to crack~ (IF going Paleo, there’s a “zig-zag” method w/ eating..Hmmmm)

#1 Spark w/ Probiotic Pill Packs
#2 Fiber (I am NOW combining steps 1 and 2..I mix 16 oz of water w/ scoop of mandarin orange Spark w/ packet of fiber; but the lid on my blendy bottle broke this morning so looks like I’m in the market to a new one!)
#3 Eat
#4 Take 4 OmegaPlex w/ dinner (WHY OH WHY is that one so hard for me to remember?!)
AND NO MORE HERBAL CLEANSE PILL PACKS AT BEDTIME (those horse pills are the hardest for me to get down!)

BREAKFAST: Spinach egg muffin
SNACK: Apple pie granola
LUNCH: Tuna apple salad
SNACK: Fruit salad
DINNER: Orange ginger chicken & veggie bowl

Spinach Egg Muffin:
10 -12 eggs whisked well
1 green onion
2 small zucchini
3 big handfuls of spinach
6-8 slices of COOKED turkey bacon
Sea Salt and Black Pepper to taste
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees – grease muffin pan with cocunut oil. Bake 20-25 minutes. Makes 18 – 20 muffins.

Apple Pie Granola:
½ cup almonds
½ cup pecans
½ cup walnuts (I leave out walnuts, just don’t like ’em)
¼ cup pumpkin seeds
7 dates, chopped
⅓ cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground allspice
¼ teaspoon ground cloves
¼ teaspoon ground ground ginger
¼ teaspoon sea salt
½ cup unsweetened apple sauce
⅓ cup coconut oil, melted (IF you don’t have this, YOU SHOULD INVEST..I use instead of butter in a lot of recipes)
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Add nuts, dates, and unsweetened shredded coconut to a bowl of a food processor and pulse to slightly chop nuts. Add spices and salt and pulse again to evenly distribute. In a bowl whisk together apple sauce, oil, maple syrup, and vanilla extract. Place wet ingredient into the bowl of food processor with nut mixture and pulse to combine. Evenly distribute granola (using fingers) on prepared baking sheet. Place in oven for 30 to 40 minutes until golden. The granola will harden up once cooled completely.

Tuna Apple Salad:
5 oz can of your favorite tuna
Apples cut into small squares
Grapes, halved
Lettuce
Olive Oil
Mustard
Put lettuce in large Tupperware container. Add cubed apples. Drain tuna and place in separate bowl. Mash and break up tuna with a fork, adding olive oil to taste. Throw halved grapes into tuna mixture and add tuna mixture to salad. In a separate container, add olive oil and mustard for dressing. Always add 3 times as much olive oil as mustard, otherwise mustard will overpower salad. Sprinkle salt and pepper, if available, into dressing.

Berry-licious Fruit Salad:
Rinse and cut off the green stems on the strawberries. Rinse the blackberries carefully since they are delicate. Gently pat the fruits dry with a paper towel. Set aside. Rinse off fresh baby spinach leaves and dry those. Remove any long or tough stems. Toss in some sesame seeds and toss the salad with honey mustard dressing. Serve immediately

Orange Ginger Chicken & Veggie Bowl:
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons orange juice
1 tablespoon minced ginger
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, thinly sliced
1/2 teaspoon canola oil, divided
4 scallions, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
1 cup broccoli florets
1 tablespoon sesame seeds
2 cups cooked brown rice or Minute Whole-Grain brown rice
In a big bowl, whisk together garlic, soy sauce, orange juice and ginger. Add the chicken and toss it around enough to coat it. Then stick it in the fridge for 15 minutes. Heat your large skillet or wok over medium heat. Put the oil in that spray bottle and spritz the skillet twice. Throw in scallions, peppers, broccoli and 1 tbsp water. Stir-fry them until tender, 4 to 5 minutes. Dump them in a new bowl. Give the skillet 2 more spritzes of oil. Add the chicken, but hold on to the marinade. Cook 4 minutes and stir, stir, stir. Add the veggies, marinade and sesame seeds. Stir-fry it all for 2 minutes. Pile everything on rice in a pretty bowl (presentation does equal delicious right? haha)

NO MORE EXCUSES!! “Ten ways to sneak in a workout”:
1- Turn your commute into a workout; this one is funny to me because if my honey is driving i’m constantly moving, like i’m trying to zumba while I sit..if i’m driving, i’ve got my legs moving, my butt-cheeks squeezed or my tummy tightened…WHAT? You mean you don’t utitilze that time? HaHa
2- Set your alarm early; BUT GET UP, DON’T HIT SNOOZE! You could always sleep in your work-out clothes so you’re ready to go (Also funny b/c I tend to put my work-out clothes on in the morning…then walk around in them all day as if just wearing them helps me lose)
3- Use your lunch break and take a quick walk. This one I definitely don’t personally utilize due to the fact that I LOVE TO EAT and want to sit and enjoy it
4- Workout at work, right there at your desk, in your office chair? Nope.. Sit on a stability ball to strengthen your core, and keep dumbbells or exercise tubing at your desk. Squeeze in 12 to 15 reps of exercises like dumbbell curls, overhead presses, and ab crunches; aim for two or three sets of each
5- Take the kids w/ you; go to the park and run around the perimeter of the play area or strap your bundle of joy into a carrier and do squats for extra resistance and a fun distraction.
6- Multi-task on a treadmill; THIS ONE I DO! Hop on a treadmill holding a three- to five-pound dumbbell in each hand, and set the speed to a brisk walk. Do a one-minute set each of shoulder presses, biceps curls, triceps extensions, side laterals, front laterals, and standing triceps kickbacks one after another as you walk. It’s an amazing upper-body challenge that also gets your heart pumping. (Remember the more muscles you’re using at once the better…FASTER YOU’RE BURNING)
7- Make it a date; My husband likes to play tennis so instead of going to dinner and a movie, opt for a game and a picnic
8- Don’t just WAIT in line; Ok, so I’m all for the calf-raises while waiting in line and maybe even squats (if there’s nobody behind you) but others suggest LUNGES? I think not haha
9- No more COUCH POTATOE; I have my hand weights in the floor by the couch so when commercials come on I can at least do bicep curls. Sometimes I’ll get in the floor and do some crunches..but NOT OFTEN
10- Power up your stair climbs; I have long legs so it’s easy for me to take 2 steps at a time going up a long flight of stairs and by the time I reach the top I can feel the burn. If you can’t handle 2 at a time, just increase your speed instead of leisurely going up
REMEMBER EVERY LIL’ MOVEMENT COUNTS!!

**I am an Independent Distributor of AdvoCare nutritional supplements and when purchasing through my website www.chellespark.com I will receive a commission.  I’d love to talk to you about how you can save 20-40% off retail prices 🙂   **I am an Independent Distributor of Essential Oils and when purchasing I will receive a commission.  I’d love to be your guide through the journey of essential oils, let me tell you how to save 25% on all your essential oil purchases ❤

The information on this site is not intended for the treatment or prevention of disease, nor as a substitute for medical treatment, nor as an alternative to medical advice. Use of recommendations is at the choice and risk of the reader.

Leave a Reply

Clearly Essential

Essential oil usage and business ideas

What the Fork Food Blog

Serving up gluten-free recipes with a side of sass

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Unexpected Monkeys

A window into my life with Tourette's

Gwen's Nest

Support for health & wellness

Detoxinista

Healthy Comfort Food Recipes

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Support for health & wellness

